We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont recomend!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont recomend!!!!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we just went for my birthday on january 7, service was slow and terrible at the restaurant, bathrooms old: bath tub brooken, toilet didnt flush, bell boy never showed.... so expensive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dont recomend!!! terrible

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Monica O,

I am so sorry for your disappointing stay and would love the opportunity to speak with you, as it sounds like we failed you on multiple levels. I see that the bathroom was not in the shape we would expect and the restaurant was not up to our standards..How was the service from the front desk?

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    1,246
    529
    245
    152
See reviews for
359
1,211
209
951
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm a bit remiss in this review, as I had the pleasure of staying at the Clift for a conference last August. I had been in contact with their manager, David, prior to arrival, and he ensured that everything was brilliant for me from checkin to checkout. The location was perfect for walking trips to Union Square and The Embarcadero, jaunts by trolley to Fisherman's Wharf, car service to Sausalito (I use Uber!), and public transport to Golden Gate Park. The room was clean and comfortable, with very little outside noise pollution. There was ample space to unpack and get comfortable for my week stay, and everyone I encountered on the staff was extremely friendly. The bathroom was small, but clean, and I even enjoyed a bath or two without trepidation! This was one of the most relaxing experiences I've had in a hotel, and I have to say much of it was due to great management. Thank you David, and thank you Morgans Hotel, for yet another great experience. There's a reason why your chain is one of my favorites, and I look forward to staying at the Clift again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get up higher and more "interior" to get away from street and lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Tara C,

Thanks for your thoughtful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and I am beyond excited that you found everything to be up to both of our expectations and standards. Please come again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lijiang, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I just spend Chirsimas in San Fransisco with my family, this was the second time we stayed in this hotel, and when we return to the Bay City area we will probably stay there again, as we were very happy during our stay on both ocasions.

It is a very stylish hotel with a very unique and conventional look and feel, the feel of the long hallways with mirrors and designer chairs, and even the decoration of the rooms gave me a feel that reminded me of a David Lynch or Stanley Kubrick movie, now that is not exactly cozy and it may not appeal to everyone, but if you are looking for a unique hotel with it's own personality and feel this is a good place.

The bar is amazing just being there makes you feel like you are hanging with the jet set, I must say that all the hostesses were gorgeous and a bit flirty that was probaly the main reasons that kept me coming back to their watering hole, but drinks were very good and they had some very nice original concotions, and the place was always packed with what seemed as very cool and fashionable people.

The location is unbeatable and e service is quite good, all in all a very nice high end hotel, my only complaint was the restaurant, we went there for dinner one day, and the food was very mediocre, not terrible or anything but not good especially not worth it for the prices you pay, I was quite disappointed as last time we were there the restaurant Asia de Cuba used to be there and it was really, really good, unfortunately it is gone now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello David R,

Thank you very much for your great review on our unique property. I am happy you enjoyed yourself and it seems as if the Redwood Room treated you well. We all hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was very clean, stylish and well located.
As an animal lover I found it ironic that pets of all shapes and sizes are welcome, yet the lobby area has massive pieces of dead animals skins, etc displayed....hmmm.
Although the restaurant atmosphere is absolutely stunning with a fantastic ambience, my friend and I got food poisening from the eggs we ate at breakfast. There were three of us and two ate the eggs, shortly after we were very ill.....all day riding the porceline train in the bathroom!!
Needless to say, the staff acknowledged our complaint and knocked off about $150 from our bill on checkout.
I wouldn't let the egg experience ruin such a lovely stay though, and you couldn't ask for a better location either!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniChilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hey Chilli,

Thanks for your review! I am happy you enjoyed yourself. I am sorry about the eggs and I am completely shocked to read that, but I am happy we worked everything out and you found the service to be up to both of our standards. I hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great swanky hotel. The rooms are interesting in a "not over furnished" way. The location is perfect, close to all of the shopping and great restaurants. The lobby has a nice area to hang out in. My bathroom was tiny, but clean and updated.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Leo1211,

Thanks for the 5 star review! We appreciate the feedback and I am happy you enjoyed yourself. You are right, the bathrooms are on the tinier side but not any smaller than typical New York/San Francisco old property bathrooms. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent two nights here with my wife and our 5 year old. We had a suite with 2 twin beds. The room was OK, nothing special, and the bathrooms was very tiny, even by NYC standards. The door to the bathroom opened directly onto the toilet, which was also weird.

The fitness center was tiny and needed some updating as well as some additional equipment.

The highlight was the Redwood Room. What an amazing bar! Right out of The Shinning...

I've stayed in several of Ian's hotels, so I was really expecting this to be something special, but it just wasn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncoutroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Ncoutroulis,

Thanks for your review. I was disappointed to see you give us 3 stars and even more disappointed you did not seem to enjoy your stay. Feel free to reach out to us about your stay as we would like the opportunity to see how we failed you. We have such a unique, special property and I am shocked you did not get to experience this.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I travel a lot -- both for work and for leisure. In my 15+ years of staying at luxury hotels, the Clift Hotel was the first time I've felt like I've been discriminated against and disrespected -- after paying for the full rate. It started with a complaint about us having the radio on. We immediately turned it off -- FULL COOPERATION. Then, the bouncers showed up at our hotel room and threatened to call the cops. We told them we had turned off the music completely per their request, and they then gratuitously said that we couldn't "talk" either. We then told them that the music was off and we could talk in soft voices and they said they would "stand outside our room and make sure that we understood what they were saying." Basically because we were Asian and Southeast Asian.

We are executives of Fortune 500 companies and used to staying at the best and being treated to the best. We were more than gracious to them and have never been treated to such discrimination or disrespect. Needless to say, we will NEVER be back to the Clift Hotel EVER AGAIN and will be happy to take our business and money elsewhere. Warning to folks "pick and choose your battles" is still very much a part of life here in the real world... especially when you stay at the Clift Hotel.

Room Tip: Expect discrimination against minorities, expect to pay top dollar for sub-par respect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Audreywalters,

If you would not mind contacting the hotel about your stay we would greatly appreciate it. You have mentioned some VERY heavy allegations about discrimination, and we take this very seriously. We do not stand for that as a hotel, as a company, or as people and I can assure you there was miscommunication.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
3,872 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,552 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
559 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing