We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wheelchair Accessible Stay at the Clift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #74 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm a wheelchair user and stayed at the Clift last November and was delighted with the access throughout the hotel. The bedroom was really lovely & I would have liked a roll in shower but needed to opt for a room with 2 beds instead. Bathroom was very spacious & easy to manouvre my chair around. The reception staff were incredibly helpful & informative and the bar staff most charming & welcoming, ensuring I had a table with easy access within the very popular and busy Redwood Room. My only comment would be that I often felt overlooked by the door staff who were rather slow to open the doors to the hotel for a wheelchair user guest.

However I've just booked for another stay in mid Nov at a great rate and really looking forward to it; guaranteed great rooms & a fun bar to hang out in. Ideally located for central SF.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Scarlett B,

I am so excited that you are coming back this month! I hope you don't mind, but I am going to scour through our reservations to try and find yours and set you up with everything you need. If by chance you read this first, reach out to me in the next week so I can guarantee I found your reservation and took care of you.

I'm so delighted you enjoyed our service and our amenities. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor and I can't wait to read the next one!!

Sincerely,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,221 - 2,227 of 3,629 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank avwood
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The location and rooms are great but what really sold me on this hotel was the phenomenal service. They made it seem effortless. Every interaction we had with the staff exceeded our expectations, from the doorman helping us take goofy pictures in the lobby, to the restaurant manager giving us free coffee to go. When the concierge learned we were on an anniversary trip, she sent up a bottle of champagne on the house. I can't wait to go back there. They clearly understand how important it is to treat their customer's well.

Room Tip: The loft is spacious and has a great layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfatpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

bigfatpain,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I'm so happy to hear that our staff, form ALL departments, contributed to making your anniversary memorable and "phenomenal"! I'm wondering if you could send us a picture from the 'big chair' so that we could send it to our corporate office and share with them the experience you had here at Clift. Please let me know!

By the way, we can't wait to have you back!

Congratulations again!!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had not stayed here in a while because the prices have been crazy - but recently, the rates dropped to a more reasonable range. I stayed for a couple of days for work meetings. The rooms still look up to date and fresh even though the hotel has been around for a while now. The shower, toilet and bath area could stand a more modern version (especially the shower and toilet). Towels were a bit scratchy and not so fluffy you woudl expect with a higher end boutique hotel. There is a small safe in the closet. The lighting and decor are cool and very trendy, as always. service was good as well at the front desk and at the door. The doormen hailed hard to get cabs when needed on the busy mornings. The Asia de Cuba restaurant is gone - it has been replaced by another restaurant that is new. The front desk gave out discount cards to get guests to try it - i didnt get a chance to. All in all, this still seems to be a good option if the price is good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCworldtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

ccgworldtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I, along with the readers, should have nothing but respect for your opinion, seeing how you have written so many reviews in so many different cities. You truly must be a "world traveler" and must have amazing stories.

I'm delighted to see that with all the places you have visited, you would point out that our service was good enough for a positive mention in your review.

As you indicated in your review, Asia de Cuba is no longer in Clift. We have an amazing new chef, Thomas Weibull, who has unveiled a whole new menu in our restaurant now named Velvet Room. Next time you come back, you have to try it. Its absolutely delicious!

Enjoy your future travels and thanks again!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our arrival at the hotel was met by pleasant staff and a wonderfully decorated foyer. The room was spacious and accommodating.

The location of the hotel is ideal, only a few blocks from union square.

Unfortunately our stay was too short for us to try the velvet room. Im sure if we return to San-Francisco we will certainly be trying it then.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Scott M,

Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to read that your stay in San Francisco was short, seeing that you traveled all the way from England!!

Taking the time to mention our staff brings a smile to my face, but I am also glad that you enjoyed our over-sized rooms and location.

Now, the only thing left to change is "if" you're visiting San Francisco to "next time" you visit San Francisco, so you can try Velvet Room!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was very excited to stay at The Clift after seeing the photos of their lobby and entrance but had an unpleasant encounter upon arrival because Valet Parking is $55/overnight (yes, even for hotel guests!)
So if you rented a car to drive around SF & to Napa, please find another hotel that has free parking facilities.

When you enter, the lobby is very dim, with rich velvet colours, decked in plush furnishings, each piece of furniture is different and is an entire piece of art of its own.
There was an offending chair which had Ivory tusks and horns as arm rests.
(i'm against wildlife poaching)
Nonetheless, the entrance was oozing with sexy charm.

Then you take the lift to your room, and upon entering the room, it was bright as day, a huge contrast from the dark sexy lobby, the furnishings look cheap with light coloured wooden chairs (like those you can get from Ikea), and whilst the room was huge, the TV was very small and tucked in a corner far from the bed so it really made watching TV a strain on the eyes.

There was no complimentary water upon arrival (chargable), I personally think this is a basic must have for all hotels, so I had to walk across the street to Walgreens and grab a few bottles.
Great amenities of Malin + Goetz in the bathroom, finally, something that is up to standard of this boutique artsy hotel.

Called for the valet to bring the car, and ended waiting 30minutes. It wasn't until the doorman realised we had been standing out there for considerable amount of time then they went to check on our car (which I assumed was forgotten).

Very unlikely to return to The Clift, overpriced for the quality of room, and the additional charges leave a bad taste.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Mia T,

First, thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on TripAdvisor. You covered a lot of aspects about your stay, which does provide a lot of great information to our readers, but I would like to just add on or help explain a little on each subject.

For parking, yes, parking is $57 a night for regular vehicles. The city of San Francisco is very comparable to that of Manhattan in New York. Parking is not cheap and very hard to find! I'm not saying that there isn't 'free' parking, but I'm not sure where you would find it in the Union Square/Financial District of San Francisco. The advantage of our parking is that our guests have access to their vehicles 24/7, and may come and go as they please. No additional charges. Also, we do feature rate plans that do include parking.

As for the design, again, you were right in your description of our lobby and oversized rooms! Thank you for the 'sexy' comment, we pride ourselves on having an unique lobby with authentic pieces. I do apologize about the couch. Its not our intention to offend anyone, it is, after all, art. As for the rooms, our design is based off the characteristics of San Francisco. The oranges represent the the iconic Golden Gate Bridge, the wheelbarrow chairs celebrate the voyage the the 49ers, who discovered this wonderful city, and there is so much more up to our in room amenities.

We do enjoy providing excellent service for all of our guests and it looks like we had a hiccup or two with you. But we would love to make it up to you and want you to come back. We know you want better and that's something we control. So please, when you can, reach out to us so we can discuss further.

We are truly looking forward to making this a "match"!

Sincerely,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice hotel in central location, spacious rooms. Had some problem with mobile signals from Telekom up on the higher floors, while AT&T worked fine. Highly attractive waitresses at the bar was a bit distractive for a bunch of guys. Nothing negative, however the hotel is so discrete from the outside that you cannot even see it one block away unless you KNOW it's there. The sign is just a tiny badge at the wall visible from a few feet :).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janoleolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

janoleolsen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great TripAdvisor review about us! We couldn't be happier that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms and passionate service.

We'd love to have you stay with us again, so please let us know when! We want your first trip to be just as fun as the this one.

Best,

John
P.S., I understand the issue with getting reception with your cell phone! As a manager, I do not get reception in our office on the ground floor! But, it allows me to spend more time with our guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,650 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $186 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing