We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Schrager style in San Fran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you're into the Delano/Mondrian/Hudson/Sanderson vibe, you'll be into the Clift, with all the hallmarks of a classic Schrager hotel. The lobby is perpetually dark, the elevators are amusingly lit with various shades of nightclub neon (so it constantly feels night at noon, and you can't help but feel inappropriately dressed in your gym gear on the way to the modest fitness centre on the 2nd floor). Rooms crisp and clean, bathrooms small but adequate. But you feel like it's the place to be, with celebrity sightings (that guy from Entourage), a packed atmospheric bar, fireplace and oversized chairs in the lobby, friendly staff. Nobody in our group raved about the food, that would be the only quibble.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Kim P,

Thanks for the great review! It's great to see that you are a frequent visitors of all of our properties, and your appreciation of them, but we are especially happy to have you visit here!

To explore all we have to offer at Clift, and write an honest review for all the TA readers to see, gives every one a great opportunity to grab a vision of what they may want their experience to be like. Some aspects might not be as appealing to others, some more. But its great reviewers, like yourself, that see we try to provide great moments in time for all our guests.

We hope that you and your friends come visit again soon!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,527)
There are newer reviews for Clift Hotel San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,145 - 2,151 of 3,527 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent the weekend at The Clift while I was in town and it's definately unique. The lobby is really very cozy,comfortable, and also very dark with lots of room to relax and hang out. I found the doormen in front of the hotel to be very friendly and even stood and talked for quite a while. Like other reviewers have said, the homeless people saw me stepping out, and made me their target a couple of times, but I think that's just San Fransisco. I wish the room had a closet or somewhere to get my clothes out of the suitcase, but there wasn't much furniture or frankly enough room for a dresser. The bed was very comfortable. Great bathroom with plenty of water pressure in the shower. I didn't try the restaurant, but the bar was very cool. I guess that explains the line of people to get in at night. Really very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_in_Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dave_in_Tulsa,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor review after your stay at Clift! It sounds like it was your first time here, and I wanted you to know that I truly apologize that you were not able to find the closet. I'm sure that it would have changed your experience and given you a little extra room to maneuver. (Just to give you, and our other readers a little insight, the closet door knob doesn't turn. All you have to do is pull and its located right next to your front door.)

We would look forward to having to come stay at Clift again. If anything, maybe we get you a little bigger room and maybe show you around the hotel!

Hear from you soon!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Worth it. Great location, very friendly staff, cool decor and louche lobby lounge. We had a standard king room. Yeah, it was small, but that's SF hotels. Platform bed and linens were dreamy. Room service prompt. Redwood Room is a bangin' bar in the lobby (we avoided it), but drinks and snacks are served in the easy chairs by the fireplace where it's quiet. No restaurant, but there are many good ones within a block or two (we like The Grand Cafe) at the Monaco next door.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phineas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Phinea55,

Thank you for writing the great review on TripAdvisor!! I do have to say I feel bad that you did not get the chance to eat at Velvet Room, our hotel restaurant. We have an amazing new Executive Chef, Thomas Weibull, who brought us a delicious new menu that you have to try the next time you're at Clift!

Please reach out the next time you are coming. We will set you up with a reservation in Velvet Room and another spectacular room at Clift!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Although the Clift is a large hotel, the rooms are generous andfor the most part quiet. This was our second time staying there. If you like a modern groovy inerior, this is the place to stay. The doormen are helpful, and the concierge is very helpful at helping to make reservations for car hire, restaurants, show tickets etc. we asked if they could confirm our reservation at Chez Panisse and it was done in the blink of an eye! Excellent location to get to anywhere you want to go whilst visiting beautiful San Francisco!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Karin H,

Thank you for the amazing TA review, again!!! It's very rare that I get to see a repeat guest write on here, but it I think it is fantastic that you are taking the time to write a follow up review on another stay!

We appreciate you, Karin, for taking the time you do, especially traveling all the way from London, to stay here and we're glad we are hitting the mark. We will be awaiting your next trip, and would appreciate if you would give us a heads up first so that we can take care of you for taking care of us!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Part of the Morgans group of hotel, which I have generally always had good experiences with. The lobby is a hip design experience, but also a comfortable place to chill out, especially near the fireplace. The Redwood Room bar is also very cool and a popular spot for locals. There was a DJ playing the night I was there. The regular room was clean and stylish, but slightly smaller than average at the price point. It had a good iPhone speaker dock which produced great sound. Bed was comfortable. Wifi is $15 for up to 3 devices. Staff were all helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

nickjuk,

Thank you for the great TA response! It was nice to read that you had various needs during your stay, yet we were able to capture them!! I hope you will reach out to us soon to let us the know the next time you are coming. We would certainly like to have someone write multiple reviews on how much they enjoyed Clift, and maybe we could see about getting you a little bigger room! ; )

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Clift for 3 nights and the hotel is a great location just 2 blocks away from Union Square and close to all the central areas for shopping. Easy to hop on the tram trolleys to get down to Fishermans Wharf. The hotel is a funky place, and the rooms are well furnished, although the bathroom was tiny. One complaint would be that wifi is not included and you have to pay extra for this, given the hotel is a premium boutique hotel, this is disappointing. The bar at the Clift is a good night spot to have a drink any time of night and attracts a glamorous crowd! A really good stay for a city hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank katharine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

katharine s,

Thank you for the great TA review!! We look forward to having you back any time and would appreciate it if you stopped by to say 'Hi!'

We truly hope to hear from you soon!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel has all the style and a great bar but the staff could do with being lessons in politeness. The rooms are, as many others point out, on the small side but I have always found them perfectly adequate. The location is most convenient for all things in San Francisco but beware of the vagrants hanging around in the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Liam C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a TA review! I really appreciate the positive feedback about the property and our famous Redwood Room Bar.

Although you gave us a great score, I am concerned about your experience from a service standpoint. I was hoping you could reach out to me as soon as possible so I can review this with you. I want you to have a great time here, and looking forward to having you back.

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
591 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
3,280 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $213 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing