We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$380
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$218
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of $388/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$280
$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$208
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $363/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$476
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$191
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,814)
Filter reviews
3,814 results
Traveler rating
1,348
1,386
609
283
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,348
1,386
609
283
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood roomredwood barphilippe starckunion squaretrendy hotelgeary streethotel barjunior suitetenderloinlobby arealocation is greatvalet parkingcorner roomtwo blockshipsfconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,415 - 2,420 of 3,814 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here mid-way through a trip to California.

We're the first to admit that there is a danger that style can overtake substance with this type of hotel. However, as far as we were concerned they achieved both in equal measure. Yes, the Redwood Room bar is dark and cool and the Philippe Starck-designed lobby looks more like a club than a hotel but the rooms are actually a really good size, clean, tidy and stylish.

The service was really good and the staff were generally attentive. We particularly liked the location - just few blocks from Union Square and lots of restaurants and bars. For breakfast, I enjoyed Cafe Mason around the corner (and the Gocar hire place opposite is good fun if you've got a few hours spare) plus there are also reasonably priced car lots close-by where you can park your car without paying valet prices.

Be warned that a quiet drink in the hotel bar on a Friday or Saturday night is never going to happen. The bar is packed from about 8pm but chances are that if you are drawn to this type of hotel then you're likely to enjoy that part of it too. Also, you pay for internet access, which is retarded but most hotels of this type still have the gaul to charge so I won't downgrade them on this basis.

Finallly, my tip is to ask for an east-facing room on a high floor - it doesn't completely remove the ambient city noise (this is a super-busy area) but it will significantly reduce it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br0sie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Br0sie,

Thank you taking the time to fill out how much you enjoyed the Clift, Redwood Room, and the city of San Francisco! We take great pride in providing top-notch service and glad that we hit the mark with you and your wife.

I can only hope that the next time you are passing through California, you will make a stop at Clift and say "hi!". I would be more than delighted to find another "east" facing view for you two again!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for a kid free weekend. We don't live far from SF, but it was nice to be able to get away for a night and enjoy playing "tourist" and taking in the sights of SF. This hotel is literally a hop, skip, and a jump away from Union Square. We were able to check in early (which was awesome!), drop our bags off and start our adventures through the city. The lobby is dark, but cozy, and their are some interesting chairs and decor features all around. A little eclectic for my tastes, but it gave the place a fun vibe. Our room was okay - it felt a little small (probably because the bed was so huge), and it felt like there were mirrors everywhere - might be a turn on for some...I just found it strange. We did enjoy a drink in their hotel bar (this place was super cool), and all of the staff and valets were very nice and accommodating. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tj6604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

tj664,

Thank you for great review of our unique style and great service. That means we connected with you because you captured what Clift, and Morgans Hotel Group, is all about.

Since you live so close, please reach out to me when you are coming. We want to turn that "probably" to an "always"!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very trendy and cool hotel with great staff. Awesome rooms, big and bright, nice bathrooms with sets of toiletries, one street away from the Union Square. Really enjoyed staying there.

Drawbacks:
- additional fee for Internet and Wi-Fi (ridiculous)
- at weekends the hotel bar is a party place, so you have to struggle through the queue of party people and show your room key to get in
- sometimes they rent the restaurant for special occasions, so it is unavailable for hotel guests (room service is available though)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Marla187147,

Thank you for the informative review. We really strive to provide the best experience with excellent trained staff both front of the house and behind the scenes.

You brought up some great points as well, and rest assured we do some of these to provide our guests with our services first. You will always be our priority.

Please reach out the next time you are booking Clift. I will personally help you book so we can get a 5 the next time you write a review!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Clift was our first stay on our honeymoon and they were kind enough (and the only place) to upgrade us for our 4 night stay. We ended up with a room on the 17th floor. The room was clean, spacious and cool. It had great views, including the Bay Bridge and Union Square. We were tired from our UK-SFO flight, so the big and very comfy bed was awesome too! It only took us about 5 minutes to walk to Union Square and the Westfield Mall. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly; especially when we called them from the Marriot car rental place to find the credit card we'd left in the room after we had checked out! Thanks for that one! All in all a great stay. Could only be bettered with free wifi, but that's just a bonus anyway. Thanks again for the upgrade, we really appreciated the gesture!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank smt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

smt617,

Thank you for the amazing review of Clift and congratulations, again, on your nuptials!! If we don't see you sooner, maybe we will see you for your one year anniversary!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is ideally located just 2minutes walk from union square. The reception staff were efficient but not especially welcoming. The hotel lobby is certainly different- very dark but cosy & some very unusual design features.
The bedrooms were lovely- beds were huge and so comfortable. Bathroom lovely. Very clean, rooms were decorated & maintained to a high standard
It appeared there was no restaurant and the food prices for room service were quite steep.There was no tea/coffee machine in the room. However, there are plenty of places to eat locally, including a starbucks right opposite.
The concierge was helpful in directing us to places to eat but there's so many- just wander around- its a safe place at night to be from what we found- we walked at night back to the hotel without problems- there are beggars on some street corners but they didn't hassle us and it seemed a feature of US towns/cities wherever we were.
Ideal also for Powell St for the cable car (to Fisherman's Wharf) or Bart (tube from San Fran airport if you want to save a little on a taxi- taxi cost us $55 for 5 people inc cases). Would advise getting a travel card (1 day or 3 day) and use buses and cable cars as public transport is excellent & easy to use.
All in all a good hotel, the friendliest people were the doormen who were very nice.
The hotel seemed to be populated by models when we were there....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Cejob,

Thank you so much for the great review! We have a well informed and friendly staff that truly take pride in their work and enjoy being here ready to share their smiles and experiences.

Our over-sized rooms are given great care by our fabulous housekeeping department, and we're glad to hear you enjoy our beds! Hopefully you also enjoyed our special bathroom amenities as well!!

I feel bad that you did not get to experience our new and amazing Velvet Room dinner! Our Velvet Room is open every day for Breakfast and Dinner, so the next time you come back, you have to try it!

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to seeing you and your family at Clift again soon!

Best,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews