We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly Cartwright Hotel Union Square) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“small and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

the fact that this hotel located very close to Union Square and shopping area, I almost did not notice how petite the hotel was.
overall the staffs were very friendly and the check in and out was a snap.
The furniture a bit old, but the beds were comfy.
The shower head in my room was not working really well, it was leaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ratlok,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to read our wonderful location worked out for you. We are hoping our rooms get a refresh in 2014. My apologies for the leaking shower head. Your feedback provided our housekeeping manager with an excellent training opportunity for her team.

We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    183
    109
    22
    27
See reviews for
40
180
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was a great find, one block from Union Square and the Powell Street cable car line! The hotel is old and smaller, but has charm and is so convenient and reasonably priced, it will definitely be a go to on a return trip.

On a recent trip to San Francisco for a 49ers game, we weere looking for a convenient location where we could land before and after the game and found this place through a travel site. The hotel recommended a car service for the trip to and from the game (tried public transit once and it was a nightmare). The car was late and the hotel staff felt personally accountable and were very apologetic, so much so that they gave us, and the couple we were traveling with, a bottle of champagne!

If you are looking for a place with all the amenities, this isn't your place. Coffe/tea and newspaper in the morning, and a nice lobby and lounge, but the owners are still waiting to get their liquor license, so the nice bar is going unused. But no need to fear, a great tap room across the street and the top of the Sir Francis is right there as well, along with any type of restaurant you can imagine within walking sitance.

In summary, convenience and grerat staff warrants my return business.

Room Tip: Standard Queens are small, but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craggs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is dated. The location is great.....near Union Square. The staff is wonderful. If you get a good price on the room it's a great deal. Otherwise you might be a bit bummed that the rooms are old, the bathrooms are tiny and the ceilings have a few cracks. Ultimately the most important thing for us is, "is it clean?" and, "Yes, it is clean." Beyond that it is just cosmetics. We don't go to SF to spend time in the room so it's all good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Pros: Location (Union Square, China Town, Cable Cars etc), Price (129/Saturday rate discount and 99/Sunday rate), Customer Service

Cons: Room size, Showed its age (leaking shower), Noise (From Street and Nearby Room)

Again for the price, I was very pleased for we got at this hotel. I thought the Customer Service at the front desk was excellent. The Lobby always had a fire going. The room was clean and comfortable even it if showed its age.

The bathroom did have a leaky shower and toilet but nothing really serious and was a tight fit but again the price.

One negative is you can hear the action from the street whether you want to or not (we were on the 5th floor). The walls of the room are also thin so conversations going on in the other rooms are not private. Yes I am talking to you room 512.

Bottom line is I would stay there again if I got the same deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoredonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The rooms were older and small but very clean and the front desk staff was the best I've experienced in quite some time. Well done. Edward Gonzalez and all his staff were outstanding and made our trip very special. The lounge with fireplace was cozy and the staff had ice buckets and wine glasses ready as soon as we came in the front door!

Jim Hammar

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Location is perfect but it's showing it's age. Bed was comfy and bathroom tiny but good shower. Downsides are no safe or fridge but location and price make it a good option. It's very close to other top hotels charging double the price. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and absolutly loved it.. Ideally located, literally 3 minutes to Union Sq. Super friendly staff and very reasonable, Edward at Reception is a true gent, very welcomeing and helpful at all times, Nice coffee in reception in the morning too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#100 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#45 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#86 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,408 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#66 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly Cartwright Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing