We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine small San Francisco hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is one of those typical San Francisco hotels that have been around for a long time and are full of character. Nothing fancy, but the staff is wonderful (if a little erratic at times), and the rooms are nice, although old fashioned. Don't stay here if you want a modern luxury hotel. But if you want a real experience, do stay. There is no restaurant but dozens within a few minutes.

Room Tip: On the front you can hear the cable cars and the city noise (not necessarily bad); on the side and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptolemy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 692 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

an excellent place to stay in union square is a true gem we really love it, it is real room are small as the restroom but are really comfy and clean, staff members were really nice always whit a smile, hotel is located just one block for union square, two block for china town and three blocks for market street heart of the city and to catch the cable car is just a few steps i will be back to this hotel next year without question.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlgc2X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

From where to start. I have arrived at the hotel and in the reception there was an old Chinese man who was very serious not even welcoming me or even smile.
From that time I said "What a horrible place this is?"
The room was tiny it was more like a single room and not a double room.
It is an old building that needs renovation.
It looked like my grandmothers old home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's not cheap, but average SF hotel rate. Older hotel and with that smaller room, but felt safe and friendly staff made the place welcoming. Love how wifi included. Great location. I'd stay again. Cute spa next door that I took advantage of: Pure Organic Spa (very nice, pleasant escape)- highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding vs the Fairmont not hard to figure why. Price was average for S.F.. Rooms are on the small side and so are the bathrooms but overall we enjoyed our stay. Place was clean, desk staff were very nice and helpful. They actually acted like they were my mom making sure I had everything thing etc. That part was very helpful. They have coffee and tea on the main level however my wife said the coffee was awful. They do contract with a parking garage one block over so be prepared to do some walking. They also warn you that it can take 30 to 45 minutes to get your car if you're using valet parking so my suggestion is park it yourself if you're able to save money and time. The location is great and if you're interested in shopping Union Square is right around the corner and they're close to the cable car lines. Some good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an early check in and they'll accomadate you if possible and ask for a larger bathroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

If retro is your thing and you don't mind smaller rooms, this centrally located hotel is a good choice. Smiling and helpful staff (ever rarer these days), comfortable bed and a good chair to sit and read (almost non-existent in hotels these days). Street noise can be intrusive at times, so light sleepers/day nappers need to pack earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel and I am really growing fond of it. Let me say I am an old house nut so the age and style is perfect. I also like the smaller size and easy going attitude. While rooms are small, they're comfortable. The lounge area is lovely - nothing like having your morning coffee in front of the fireplace. Also, great and convenient location!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank MCH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
1,704 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,313 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $121 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing