We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“There are much better hotels than this one.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #97 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“There are much better hotels than this one.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

From where to start. I have arrived at the hotel and in the reception there was an old Chinese man who was very serious not even welcoming me or even smile.
From that time I said "What a horrible place this is?"
The room was tiny it was more like a single room and not a double room.
It is an old building that needs renovation.
It looked like my grandmothers old home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    219
    125
    24
    29
See reviews for
48
219
45
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's not cheap, but average SF hotel rate. Older hotel and with that smaller room, but felt safe and friendly staff made the place welcoming. Love how wifi included. Great location. I'd stay again. Cute spa next door that I took advantage of: Pure Organic Spa (very nice, pleasant escape)- highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding vs the Fairmont not hard to figure why. Price was average for S.F.. Rooms are on the small side and so are the bathrooms but overall we enjoyed our stay. Place was clean, desk staff were very nice and helpful. They actually acted like they were my mom making sure I had everything thing etc. That part was very helpful. They have coffee and tea on the main level however my wife said the coffee was awful. They do contract with a parking garage one block over so be prepared to do some walking. They also warn you that it can take 30 to 45 minutes to get your car if you're using valet parking so my suggestion is park it yourself if you're able to save money and time. The location is great and if you're interested in shopping Union Square is right around the corner and they're close to the cable car lines. Some good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an early check in and they'll accomadate you if possible and ask for a larger bathroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

If retro is your thing and you don't mind smaller rooms, this centrally located hotel is a good choice. Smiling and helpful staff (ever rarer these days), comfortable bed and a good chair to sit and read (almost non-existent in hotels these days). Street noise can be intrusive at times, so light sleepers/day nappers need to pack earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel and I am really growing fond of it. Let me say I am an old house nut so the age and style is perfect. I also like the smaller size and easy going attitude. While rooms are small, they're comfortable. The lounge area is lovely - nothing like having your morning coffee in front of the fireplace. Also, great and convenient location!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MCH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

After travelling by train from Chicago, which lasted for three days and two nights, we arrived in San Francisco and went straight to the artwright Hotel, which I had booked from Australia on the Internet.
I had asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel as we wanted a good nights sleep before returning to Australia the next day. We were greeted very warmly and told that we had been upgraded to a suite. We had booked a king size room. The suite was more than comfortable, very clean, very pleasant and on the 6th floor, and very quite although it did face Sutter street. Our choice could not have been better. Very comfortable bed and lots of clean fluffy and new towels etc in the large bathroom. and coffee making facilities in the sitting room.
Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, there are plenty of places for breakfast, Starbucks and a Seven Eleven just to name two. There is also a great Diner on the corner of Powell and Sutter where we had lunch with a discount voucher from the Hotel.

The staff organized a pickup to the airport for us so everything went very smoothly.
Hopefully, we can return to San Francisco sometime in the future and we will certainly stay at this very convenient located Hotel in the Union Square area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Ask when making your booking for your requirements and I am sure it will be attended to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deblonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestermere, alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rooms a little small but location of hotel and staff made our stay enjoyable. Hotel is in a great location just off Sutter and Powell. Staff was more than willing to help with any requests we had. Great hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJV01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,906 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly Cartwright Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing