We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #106 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights during a very busy long weekend due to the America's Cup going on. We booked using the HotelTonight app and got a great deal. Location is ideal, especially for 2 women traveling in a city they didn't know. Very central to many activities, bars, restaurants and public transportation. We felt very safe. Relatively small room and bathroom but it worked fine for the two of us. We both had trouble sleeping due to the softness of the beds, we both prefer a firmer mattress. The hotel staff is amazing. Everyone we dealt with was not only super accommodating, they were also extremely friendly and made you feel very welcome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyshoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    197
    109
    22
    27
See reviews for
42
193
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for our weeks holiday in September. The location is preface for shopping and getting about the City. The rooms are smaller than most Hotels in the area, but the price compared to the Hyatt reflects this. However, I found the service and family feel to the place better than most of the big Hotel chains. We really enjoyed the stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: We request a quiet room and got one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. This was a steal from hotels.com at $139 a night. We arrived early and they stowed our bags for us and apologized for not having a room ready for us to check in to, which was very kind of them. Later in the evening, the front desk staff were kind, courteous, and professional, attending to our needs. There is not an icemachine, but the bellhop brought us some. The room is on the small side- but we expected this. While small, it is furnished modernly with a comfy bed. The shower was great with good water pressure. We were on the second floor so we did hear some noise from the cable cars as well as some of our drunken neighbors in the hallway. However, once they were in their rooms, it was quiet. Our flight did not leave until late at night and again, they stowed our bags for us. Good choice when in the city, within one block of union square with a walgreens directly across the street. We really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesslikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved our stay at the Cartwright hotel! We booked through expedia and got a great deal compared to other central hotels. Although the rooms are fairly small, the closet was huge and we were able to hide all of our cases away. The room was also really clean and had bags of character.

The staff were most definitely some of the friendliest we met on our two week trip down the west coast. Really helpful and approachable and if you're looking to do the usual touristy stuff, ask for advice about ticket info at the front desk. You can buy bus tours directly from the hotel and there's none of the pushiness or hard sell that you often get in hotels. Location is also perfect - honestly don't think you can better for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebells74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel has all the characteristics of an old hotel-- small rooms, small bathrooms, no central AC, dated decor, and minimal amenities. However, the location is one of the best in the city. It's close to the cable cars, and in walking distance to Market Street. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and even got us a room with an air conditioner. Bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was no bigger than a closet. TV had more foreign channels than American, and there was no bar or restaurant in the building.

We had a decent experience here, but for the price, we suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for AC if you prefer it...most old hotels don't have it in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuhrball77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed there a couple of nights in early Sept 2013. We only booked for one night and the rate was 119.00 through Travelocity. We got a rate of 129 for the extra night, so we didn't feel we got hosed for not having two nights reserved. Parking was close and 30 bucks a night, so factor that into the cost.The staff was really nice and helpful and the location was central to everything we wanted to see. Eat at Lori's on the corner if you want good food that's close to the hotel. The room was small, but the closet was huge and they did an excellent job of utilizing the space available. We left our window open and weren't bothered by the street noise. Our last night there a drunk kept trying to access our room with his credit card, so after the staff took care of that problem at 2am, we couldn't get back to sleep so we left at 3 am. We were on a Harley taking a long road trip. We were the only people on the Golden Gate Bridge at that time of the morning which was pretty cool. So the early wake up call didn't bother us. Great Hotel, great city although I wouldn't want to live there!

Room Tip: I let the chips fall where they may, and got a great room, so I assume all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This really is a bad hotel for the price. My room smelt damp, it had no locks on the window despite looking straight onto a fire escape and no double glazing to block out the sounds of the street and nightclub across the road. Room furniture is old and run down. Rooms are very small. There is no restaurant or bar. Front desk staff are almost rude, and really not helpful. They just didn't care. And we paid $300 for this. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#102 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#86 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly Cartwright Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing