We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #87 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This really is a bad hotel for the price. My room smelt damp, it had no locks on the window despite looking straight onto a fire escape and no double glazing to block out the sounds of the street and nightclub across the road. Room furniture is old and run down. Rooms are very small. There is no restaurant or bar. Front desk staff are almost rude, and really not helpful. They just didn't care. And we paid $300 for this. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    248
    136
    27
    32
See reviews for
60
252
51
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was really cute. It was very old fashioned, but not old and weathered. Bed were so comfy, the bathrooms are tiny though. Its in a fantastic location, literally 100 meters from a cable car stop and one of the main shopping strips in San Fran. would defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jlhudson 1986,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed our “great” location. We hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco. If you get the opportunity please like us on Facebook.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location but room was a little small and could definitely do with an update. Having said that my room had everything I needed and was clean, in addition the bathroom was well lit and always stocked with great bath products. In the mornings there was complimentary tea and coffee downstairs which was a pleasant surprise.
So close to Union Square, cable cars and all the fun, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmm_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear its_mares,

Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate the fact that your review was fair. We realize our rooms are small, that is why we focus on making them practical. Great bath products along with little perks such as complimentary coffee, tea and wireless help our guests find value. Plus we are close to “all the fun.” Although we will not be able to increase square footage, we are in the process of finalizing plans to renovate our hotel.

We hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco. Keep tabs of our renovation by liking us on Facebook.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Cartwright was great . It is situated in central to everything. The rooms are quaint. If your looking for up market hotel this is not it. If your looking for a hotel which is personalized then this is perfect.
The staff are helpfull, in particular Kevin on the front desk , valet parking . He is an asset to this hotel . He was fantastic, helpful, had a genuine love of his city and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4350ellenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear 4350ellenr,

Thank you for the “Excellent” review. What makes staying at a quintessential boutique hotel such a memorable experience is that personal touch. Genuine service takes that personal touch to the next level. Good service is easy to find, genuine service is unique. We are so happy you took the time to mention Kevin. He was absolutely thrilled to read your review.

Kevin and the entire team look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Francisco. Please like us on Facebook (you may even see your review posted).

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My first time in San Francisco but definitely not my last! When we arrived we were greeted kindly and assisted with our luggage. The room was a bit smaller than expected but it had a wonderful charm that just added to the character of the hotel as a whole, it's also in a great location with many bars and sights to see within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone headed to San Fran

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChoCoBoy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ChoCoBoy89,

Thank you for your “Splendid” review. We appreciate that you appreciated our charm. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Fran.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Staff is be kind, but the building is an older building with quite cramped rooms. I have a disability and a mobility scooter, and it was a little challenging fitting things in. But the location was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickeu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Nickeu 12,

Thank you for your review and for recognizing our staff. I can certainly understand how the smaller room size could be a challenge. If we have the pleasure of accommodating you in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly sviscio@cartwrightunionsquare.com. I will find a room that is more suitable.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Cartwright good location and the reception staff were extremely helpful. Rooms are a bit small and bathrooms and it is a bit worn but a great location and ideal for the tourist. No food or drinks served in the hotel but you can buy alcohol next door and get hot rinks across the road in the supermarket and you can then drink them in the hotel reception which we did and enjoyed? We had discount vouchures from the hotel for lori s diner a couple of doors down where the food was excellent and open 24 hours

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear ctwales,

Thank you so much for your review. The reception staff was thrilled to read your comments. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our amazing location. We are getting close to finalizing plans to refresh our property to get beyond that “worn look.”

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing