We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #80 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is old but is clean and good enough if you are looking for a conveniently located hotel that is well-priced. Bathroom was a bit small and showed its age. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ny807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear ny807,

I appreciate you concise and accurate review. The hotel is actually 100 years old this year. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 674 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good value for money. Very friendly and helpful service. Top located very close to Union square right in the center of SF. Room was clean but not really spacey, small beds. No breakfast available, but Starbucks and 7Eleven right around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Peter W,

I love the “very” in friendly and helpful. We provide our guests with a great value by offering sincere service, clean rooms, and a central location. What makes are location perfect is you have the option of fine dining or a quick bite at Starbucks or 7-Eleven. All within a five minute walk.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent forever searching for budget accommodation in San Francisco but found at the time we visited (early August) everything was booked out or very expensive. This was over our budget but we wanted something with a good location and relatively good reviews so we booked it.

It is a hotel with beautiful old charm. Our room was very small and the bathroom was the smallest I have had in a hotel but it was presented in a wonderful way and very clean. Towels and soaps were provided. It was a little noisy at night with sirens but because of the incredible location that is to be expected.

The location was definitely the drawcard. Union Square was less than a minutes walk away. Fishermans Wharf was a leisurely twenty minute stroll and Chinatown was about ten minutes. It was in the midst of things and felt very vibrant and as safe as you can get in San Fran.

The hotel staff were wonderful, they were very accommodating and made things easy for us. Everything was done with a smile and we never felt unwelcome. The computer and printer area was an added bonus and the wifi was super quick.

The only downfall for us was the price. Since I am a foreigner perhaps it is relative to what people pay in San Francisco (I was also told that the America's Cup was on at the time and that is was high season) but it did seem too much for what it was.

As a whole it needs a refurbishment but does not lack charm, location or cleanliness and those definitely made our stay fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road for a quieter experience.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETree123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear ETree123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. The entire team appreciated your kind words about our staff. Your words not only described friendly service, but more importantly genuine service. August can be a pretty expensive month to stay in San Francisco. Hopefully the value of good service and a one-of-a-kind location helped to offset the expense. We make every effort to price our hotel on par with other boutique hotels in San Francisco. We are also very conscientious of the importance of providing our guests with value.

We are looking forward to refreshing our rooms in the very near future. Perhaps you can visit us again in the next couple of years. I will be happy to help you find a date that is financial friendly.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cartwright in July. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quite nice. But the real gem here is the location. It's in the absolute perfect spot in Union Square. A 2-3 minute walk from pretty much everything you need. We booked via pre-pay for your stay and saved an extra good chunk of $$. Highly recommend this hotel for travelers looking for a nice little hotel in a great spot!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaredk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Jaredk27,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the delay in responding. I thought your title was perfect. Our goal is to provide great value due to our clean rooms, great staff and amazing location. Plus if you take advantage of our non-refundable rates you can save a pretty sizeable chunk of money.

We hope to see you again. Check our website or like us on our Facebook page for other great offerings.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great spot closet to Union Square and Chinatown. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has been there for about a hundred years.
So like any old hotel this presents the problem of how often it gets refitted. Currently I'd say it be been 30 years at least. The rooms were clean but old. I.e. old carpet, kinda smells like my Grandmas place did. Small rooms too.
But if u are looking fit a place to crash very close to the action and u aren't travelling with a "princess" then it is a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Struba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Struba,

Thank you for your witty review. I am sorry it took so long to respond. The hotel is actually 100 years old this year. We hope to freshen up the hotel in 2014. We do have “princess friendly” suites, so don’t hesitate to bring the princess along.

Please visit our website to see our suites or other room offerings. We also have great rates through pre-pay promotions. View all of our specials on our website or like us on Facebook.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoy staying at the Cartwright when we visit San Francisco. It is right inherit of Union Square and so convenient to area restaurants and bars, buses and cable cars. Great old style San Francisco hotel.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center...restaurant/bar are closed until tbd
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130DaveReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

STayed here for a recent business trip. Rooms were booked through a service agency. This is a serviceable hotel right on Powell St (cable car route). No services at the hotel, but since it was within walking distance to EVERYTHING, it was not a big deal. Biggest and best thing about this place is the staff, very friendly and super helpful, no matter what you ask. My room was small, but I wasn't in it much. Also, the rooms on the Powell St side of the building tend to be noisy because of the cable car and lots of foot traffic. I only had one good night sleep there, the night the cable car was broken!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and not on the Powell St side of the building if you want to s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minesbigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#62 of 230 in San Francisco
1,690 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,278 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
1,788 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $123 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing