We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable middle of the road hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An affordable middle of the road hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros:
Cheap (especially relative to other nearby hotels)
Clean
All the essentials were present and in good order
Friendly staff

Cons:
Soft beds in which I could feel a bit of the springs
Nothing really above what's needed.
Some street noise early morning from trucks, etc.

Overall: I got this hotel at the last minute for a one night stay in SF somewhere near to Union Square. My criteria was that it was cheap, clean, and affordable. This hits each of those marks and for that it can't possibly be anything less than average. The reason I give it an "average" rating mainly is because the bed was soft and springs were noticeable through the sheets. The second slightly less significant con is that street noise is fairly audible (at least in the room I stayed in, which in fact didn't face street side).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChimesIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    242
    133
    26
    31
See reviews for
59
241
50
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We love coming to the Hotel Cartwright near Union Square. We have returned here again and again. The staff welcomes us like old friends. The rooms are small but charming. The beds and linens are dreamy. The pricing is very reasonable. Look for specials on their website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was my first time in San Francisco and this little hotel was in the perfect location! Edward at the front desk was an absolute pleasure to work with. I was on the 7th floor overlooking the hustle and bustle of the street, but it was still very quiet in the room. I am picky about my bed, and this one was to die in. Very comfortable and great linens. The rooms are small and beautiful with all you need. They also have safe deposit boxes available at the desk for personal use. Igor was willing and available for a private car for the same price as a taxi, which I took advantage of. Check out time was at noon giving me plenty of time to go out in the morning before my departure as well. There is a beautiful parlor with a fireplace and lounge area. I would return here time and again. I found this hotel on a coupon, but will be a customer for life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are looking for a short stay and want to be near Union Square, shopping, etc. this is a great option. Rooms are extremely small however still well equipped. Loved the quirky nature of the hotel and authentic features that appear everyeher from the lobby to the rooms themselves. Great value for money compared to some of the chain hotels around. The common areas are beautifully kept. No restaurant but the diner next door is a great option for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinKopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got an excellent online rate on this old but conveniently located hotel, with a room that was clean and quiet, and had easy-to-access free high-speed wi-fi. The staff is responsive and just outside the door is Lori's Diner, a totally fun place open around the clock, where the food is San Francisco healthy and delicious despite the retro decor. So I can't complain, except this: why do they have to make it so depressingly drab? Walk two blocks down to Chinatown and get some cheap, colorful fabrics or pillows or SOMETHING to brighten up the blah beige decor from yesteryear.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCFlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Let me start by saying that yes, the room (and the bathroom) was tiny. But for only 1 person, it worked. The location of the hotel is great. Within walking distance of almost everything and good places to eat and shop close by. And the staff is fantastic. Overall I had an excellent stay and will probably stay here again next time I'm in San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziniazanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location, very relaxing room, and wonderful friendly service. Close to Union Square all walking distance to much there is to see and do in the San Francisco. Nice restaurants nearby. We will return when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: Don't expect a large room and you won't be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#87 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing