We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed stay at Cartwright - Great location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Professional, responsive staff and premium access to Union Square. The hotel was used for a business trip around conference in Union Square and worked out very well for us and our clients. Booking team was easy to work with and delivered on all that was offered.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Anonymous0003,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The entire team was pleased to read all went well with your conference. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 694 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Cartwright in mid December and got a great rate considering peak holiday time. I was pleasantly surprised by how personal and comfortable a hotel could be. I'm used to staying at big chains like the Marriott and the Cartwright Union Square was a nice change of flavor. The front desk guys were so friendly and helpful. My room wasn't big but it was very comfortable (especially the bed!) and had the quaint "old San Francisco" feel. I had WiFi and free coffee in my room. There was also free coffee by the lobby. All in a all...an excellent experience and an amazing value! I will definitely stay there again and refer my friends and family there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear MichelleLi,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You truly captured the spirit of our hotel. We love to be your “non- big box” alternative. I am thrilled you found us to be an amazing value, and you didn’t even mention our great location.

We hope to be your flavor of choice when visiting San Francisco. Please take a moment to like us on Facebook.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I loved this place! The rooms are small but it is a very old hotel with great staff, great lounge with fireplace, great old feeling in the quaint little rooms..will come again for sure :) Love the old fire escape too!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The best part of this hotel is its location! You are close to everything!
Our room was quite small and we could hardly turn around in there. The beds were also pretty small, but not bad. It was an ancient room, but somehow felt quaint.
Room service was very good and the front desk guys were very friendly and helpful.
There was Happy Hour every evening, but we were never there to catch it. Dining room looked a bit dark, but when you are so close to great restaurants, you would not spend too much time in the hotel restaurant. The front desk gave us coupons to have breakfast at the next door diner, which had good food.
I would rather have a bigger room in a hotel, but again, you cannot beat the price for such a great place. So, there is a good chance that I will stay here again when I come back to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the last 20 years I'm at SF for business trips, always at the big hotels like Hilton Hyatt etc.
This is the first time on pleasure trip and wanted to have something smaller (the company doesn't pay) with in the center with reasonable price. So I looked at the internet and there was Cartwright which I never heard of. I didn't know what to expect and I found an amazing small hotel in a great location with a great stuff that gave me the feel that I'm at home. When you get into the hotel you feel like a family hotel like in Europe that the owner sit near the reception and will do everything that you'll feel at home. If you are lucky Lilian will be there and you'll feel that your mother is there for you with any problem that may be arise. If she is not there Kevin will solve all your issues.
I really enjoyed from this stay in SF and I felt like I never felt all my other visits in the huge hotels.
I have a decision: all my next visits (non business) will be at this cozy hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are bit small but if you plan to be out in the city most of your day the rooms are very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuval T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here on New Years Eve, attending a party at the nearby Westin Hotel. The location of this hotel is really good, in the heart of the action. Lots of restaurants and shopping all around the hotel. The price was great on the internet relative to neighbouring hotels. The hotel is a 3 star property and it fits the bill - not a super upscale place, but what you would expect for the rating / price. The staff was quite accommodating, which we appreciated, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Only issue I had with the hotel was that the shower in the room was a hand-held variety with the clip on the wall set too low! I am 175cm (5 ft 9 inches) and I had to duck under it slightly to take a shower! Added bonus, there is a 7-11 across the street which makes it easy to grab water, drinks and even a late night hot dog!!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Salim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location is pretty good, very central and convenient to go to all the tourist attractions. The hotel staff are friendly. However, a little bit disappointed by the room size. The pictures of the room at the Booking.com website look way bigger than actual. Also, there is actually no room type called "deluxe room". It's in fact just a very tiny room with a double size bed. The bathroom is very tiny. You can barely move around especially at the toilet area. The wifi is pretty fast compared with many other hotels. If you want to book this hotel through Booking.com, you'd better to be prepared for a much smaller sized room so you won't be surprised and ruin the mood of your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,704 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $122 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing