We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, issue at check out kept it from 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #78 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had attempted to stay at this property in April, but had issues receiving confirmation from the property about my best rate guarantee claim. In the end i reached out to the GM and as a goodwill gesture offered to honor the rate for a future stay during a similar peak season. I was able to book November veterans day weekend and had a wonderful stay. The front desk was very helpful in getting me checked in around 9am, which was awesome! The room though small is definitely enough space for 2 people, besides who goes to San Francisco to stay in their room all day?
Cons: The hotel recently changed names/operations to the Cartwright, this was not something I was notified of ahead of time. Not really a big deal other than the fact the property was no longer a part of Stash rewards program, so I lost out on some points there. There was a lot of signage for Larkspur Union square hotel everywhere on site and there were still a lot of picture frames with the stash rewards program benefits listed.
Finally at check in as I reviewed my folio I noticed that there had been a parking charge listed. Perculiar as there was no car on site. I mentioned this to the male at the front desk but he claimed that he had taken it off. Being a math maor I knew the total was still incorrect and I stated this to the gentleman but he continued to argue with me that he had adjusted the amount. I then asked him to take out a calculator which he refused to do so it was not untilI we had another staff member come by and she pointed out to him that he had not made the correction.

Room Tip: Room 501 serviced us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omarucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHUSmanager, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Umailop,

Sorry for the delay in acknowledging your review. I truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad we were able to come to an understanding and honor the “Best Rate” program. Thank you for mentioning the efforts of the front desk to get you into your room early.

I apologize for the inconvenience regarding our name change. We sold on October 31st and had not converted much of the signage. A major portion of that has now been rectified. We are also very close to signing back on with Stash Rewards.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco and earning that five. Keep an eye on our Facebook page and website for updates on packages or events.

Sincerely,

Steven Viscio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pintochampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Robyamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank U2510ZWdavider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie N, Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ezio57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 861uwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie N, Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccc4776 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie N, Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,704 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $122 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing