We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have chosen better”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #124 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Couldn't have chosen better”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just stayed almost a week at the wonderful Andrews Hotel and I can say I was so pleased I chose this hotel to welcome our American vacation. The hotel itself is in the historic Turkish Bath building which has been refurbished into cosy and pleasant rooms with a fantastic adjoining Italian restaurant.

The BEST thing about this hotel was the location - a few blocks from Union Square, the heart of San Francisco. We could literally walk everywhere - including China town and North Beach, Little Italy - which was our favourite district for culture, Italian good and pretty tree lined streets.

The rooms are just fine, clean, cosy with almost everything you need. (No fridge) The bed was so comfortable and a ceiling fan kept us cool. Each morning a complimentary continental breakfast was supplied on each floor including juices, coffees, fruit and pastries. From 5 - 6.30 each evening you can enjoy a complimentary wine down in Lidos Italian restaurant - a nice touch.

Front desk were helpful and welcoming, check in and out was a breeze.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend this for the location alone and affordable price and inclusions. Wireless is free!

Check out the Owl Tree on the corner - a cosy little wine bar and also Riyokos sushi - AMAZING.

Thanks Andrews Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    313
    128
    43
    24
See reviews for
58
310
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

this hotel has a good location near Union Square, and an excellent restaurant on the premises, which is independent of the hotel. staff are friendly.
however, the room was smallish and the bathroom absolutely tiny. anyone over 6 foot would have extreme difficulty using the loo as the basin is in the way ! breakfast, included in the room rate and served in the hallway of each floor, was poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank vera022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On a last minute whim, we decided to visit the city and obtain a hotel room so that we may indulge in a lovely late evening (fine print: drink and eat a lot and not have to drive home until the morning). I have stayed at other hotels in Union Square including the Hilton and the Westin. Most of the hotels in this area are very old and have a lot of visitors. Since it was the weekend of the SF Marathon, there was hardly anything available in the area. We had to pay top price to find this room as it was one of the few available. At other reviewers suggest, this hotel is very European, everything is smaller compared to larger American chain hotels. To my surprise, the lobby is small and cozy. Check in was easy and they had free wi-fi. The room was tiny. I felt like I was a character in a movie such as Alice in Wonderland where she is so large that she can't fit through the door. OK, that is an exaggeration but the room barely fit a full size bed. Since we must have got the last room, it was in a horrible location (room 205) at the entrance of the stair well and right were they serve the continental breakfast. THere are windows in the room that one, face our neighbors shower and the second that face an small opening (I have seen this in Europe in many of the buildings but I am not sure of what it is called (mini courtyard minus the yard). It was nice for fresh air or should I say ventilation. The hotel offers a glass of wine in the evening, a continental breakfast. If you can sleep thought any noise, then stay here but otherwise, if you are a light sleeper such as me then you might not get much sleep even with your white noise app cracked up and half a Costco melatonin in your system. Also, avoid room 205. In all fairness, when I stayed at the Westin facing Union Square, I heard every shower, and neighbor conversations and that was after I just finished a marathon (so tired and yet still bothered by noise). If this hotel is in your budget, you will find it is only a couple of blocks to Union Square and transportation. Parking in the back runs about 30 a night. It is close to everything and for the price, probably a good deal for the area.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 205. Small rooms, small bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RN4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Andrews a few times now and while it is worn and old, it still has a charm about it. It needs some renovation, but it's hard when you are down the road from the JW Marriott, St Francis, etc. But this is a very comfortable place, in a great location at a good price point.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side. It can be noisy from partiers into late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon trip. We booked it as it was cheap, location was good and we were leaving the hotel early the next day to go to the airport - so didn't need anything plush. On arrival the welcome was fantastic and the receptionist arranged for a bottle of champagne to be put in the room (as we were on honeymoon) - this was a lovely touch. However, the room was very small, very hot and a bit fusty smelling. There was a ceiling fan, but we were staying on a particularly hot night and it really didn't keep us cool. I was glad that we were leaving at 6am the following morning as I don't think I could take much more of the heat! Another thing I am disappointed about is that they took an extra $25 off my credit card for "incidentals" and promised a refund should this not be used. This refund was promised within 2 weeks of check out. 4.5 weeks and an email to them later, I still haven't received this refund - so am not happy!! I would like to give a better review as the staff were really nice, but the rooms were really not up to scratch and the fact I haven't had my refund, or been emailed back about it is very annoying!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We hadnt expected much from this hotel and unfortunately it still managed to disappoint us. We were woken every morning at 0630 by a knocking that occurred every morning we stayed there which lasted for two hours. We were also kept awake one night by one of our neighbours vomiting because the walls are very thin you can hear everything. Also the shower in the bathroom is tiny and the shower head came to my chest which made washing my hair very difficult because I am not a contortionist. There were also other peoples hairs in the shower when we arrived. I would definitely look at better alternatives further away from the Tenderloin.

I can say that the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onewillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
617 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 229 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beresford Arms
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,149 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Property: Andrews Hotel
Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing