We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel in good spot”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #129 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a good hotel for a 3 night stay. Staff were really nice and helpful too. Location is pretty good. Close to union square, shops and tourist busses. Breakfast on your floor every morning is simple but free so can't complain. Bathroom was really small & Hotel is a little older but overall nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-Traveller598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 647 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A very welcoming conveniently located hotel. The rooms are small but cosy, the bathrooms definitely need updating but were fine everything worked and did its job. The room could use a fridge as safe and a better tv. The breakfast service wasn't amazing but better than nothing and always a nice touch. Tea, coffee and fruit available 24/7 in the lobby and free wireless throughout the hotel. Complimentary wine every night in their restaurant. The location was perfect and the staff were more than welcoming. Will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moocow8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at Andrews 4 times over the last several years - my daughter & I keep returning when in SF for a "girls weekend", which is a high vote of confidence :) ! Great restaurant, convenient location, cozy boutique hotel with reasonable pricing. Good front desk recommendations for entertainment & dining destinations in city. Pay attention to neighborhoods when on foot in SF - most directions from Andrews safe for walking, but not all!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WindyCity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in the Andrews Hotel at least four times prior to this last trip. I have always enjoyed my stays. The hotel location is convenient to Union Square, an easy walk to The Ferry Building and other sites. I enjoy the snacks and juices and coffee in the morning. The rates are competitive. The restaurant, Fino is outstanding. I regret to write that you should very careful when you leave valuables in your room. The staff will disagree with what I am writing. I was amazed at how quickly what was gone was returned after I mentioned it to the front desk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
4  Thank sansan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Andrews hotel was great. Attendants at the desk were very helpful with giving us information about what to do and how to get there. Not a big room but exactly what you're after for a nice stay in San Francisco. Complimentary breakfast which was quite enjoyable, free wifi and close to union square (0.8km from Powell st station to catch airport train). Being my second trip to this lovely city, I found the location of this hotel to be very convenient. Only downside I can think of is when I emailed the hotel on numerous occasions prior to staying I never received any responses, not a big deal though. The restaurant attached to the hotel is also delicious, if you stay here I suggest you give it a try! Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FH2011Wollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The building survived the Earthquake and Fire of 1906, so if you're looking for modern amenities look elsewhere. But for a boutique hotel in a prime location at a very reasonable price, the Andrews Hotel is a really nice find.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooch1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is happily situated just a few blocks from Union Square. I got there on Thanksgiving night and as soon as I got there the gentleman on call opened the door for me. I was craving a Thanksgiving meal and he told me where I could go even though it was rather late. I was not afraid to walk outside alone at that time of the night because the location of the hotel is pretty safe. There were plenty of people still walking about. The location is just perfect and close to everything.

My first impression of the hotel -- "charming", it was built in 1905 and you ride up this antique elevator (which has been refurbished along with the rooms) to get to your room. The rooms are small and cozy. I loved the ambiance. It was wonderful staying there and having such a helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
743 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,782 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
813 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 230 in San Francisco
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $116 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing