We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andrews Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Fitzgerald Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dakota Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Taylor Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Post Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Beresford Arms(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick San Francisco(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveler rating
129
326
138
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
326
138
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary glass of winecontinental breakfastpetite suiterooms are smallunion squareceiling fanevery morningeach eveningtwo blockseuropean stylequaint hotelqueen roomstayed here for nightsstreet noisethe heart of the cityexcellent locationcable car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 664 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been coming to this nice hotel for many years. Here's what I like: very helpful and friendly front desk staff, good coffee and continental breakfast outside your room in the morning, unique old fashioned rooms, cozy lobby with a glass of wine every evening, valet parking for your car, great restaurant downstairs, fantastic location and a fair price. It is my home in the city.

Room Tip: Corner king rooms have tiny bathrooms not suitable for above average size guests.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed there for 2 nights for a quick weekend getaway. Great location, short walk to the union square. The hotel has a charming and quaint european style with some history in it. Love the old style elevator.
Jody - at front desk - is GREAT lady. Very nice, polite and helpful.
Complimentary breakfast in the morning was a nice and yummy touch. Complimentary wine in the late afternoon was great as well.

The only drawback was the window in the room is not very well insulated hence you can hear outside noises quite clearly i.e: car alarms, trucks and trash bins. Friday night and Saturday nights are the noisiest.

Other than that, it's a GREAT hotel.

Room Tip: Asked for a room away from the street or alleys to avoid outside noises.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilda_Dupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this at the last minute and got a decent rate. Lovely little hotel very close to Union Square. The room is tiny but that was fine with me. Amazingly comfortable bed! Some people have commented on the thin walls. My room was right next to the elevator and I hardly heard a thing.

This hotel has tons of personality and charm!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Londonguyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is still family run and is excellent if you like old and original features (an amazing lift that is nearly 100 years old). If you like modern and homogenous then stay elsewhere. I am a poor sleeper and was worried about city noise but not a problem as it was relatively quiet on the 7th floor - the only noise coming part way through my long weekend when a noisy woman in the opposite room was only capable of slamming her door and using her mobile in the hallway but there we go - hotels can't be responsible for fellow travellers breach of etiquette. This hotel is in an ideal location on Post Street with Union Square, shops and cable cars in close proximity. It also has the benefit of a lovely Italian restaurant on the ground floor handy if you are jet lagged and/or exhausted after sightseeing and shopping - but you will need to book as Fino's is rightly very popular. I was travelling on my own so squeezed in at the bar and had a lovely supper two nights in a row. The bar is also the place to enjoy your complimentary glass of wine between 5.30 and 6.30 which is a very nice touch. My room was clean and comfortably furnished and the bed was lovely and comfortable too. The bathroom was laughably small which could be a problem for some - I just admired the ingenuity of getting a shower, loo and sink in the same sized footprint as the wardrobe. One real bonus is that continental breakfast is served each morning on each floor so no need to get fully dressed just be decently covered and grab what you want to enjoy breakfast in bed with the TV on. The front desk staff are lovely and helpful and I really enjoyed my weekend at The Andrews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved this hotel. It's old world charm, combined with great central location was a big plus. A short stroll to Union Square and all the tours and restaurants was great. The area seemed a bit seedy at first, but not at all after the first hour. It has a fabulous Italian restaurant downstairs that was amazing food at not a bad price too. The breakfast outside our door each morning was a lovely touch, and the price was certainly right. Mainly this is just a good, clean, comfortable place to stay right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GayleJMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews