We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Hotel in a prime location”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #129 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is still family run and is excellent if you like old and original features (an amazing lift that is nearly 100 years old). If you like modern and homogenous then stay elsewhere. I am a poor sleeper and was worried about city noise but not a problem as it was relatively quiet on the 7th floor - the only noise coming part way through my long weekend when a noisy woman in the opposite room was only capable of slamming her door and using her mobile in the hallway but there we go - hotels can't be responsible for fellow travellers breach of etiquette. This hotel is in an ideal location on Post Street with Union Square, shops and cable cars in close proximity. It also has the benefit of a lovely Italian restaurant on the ground floor handy if you are jet lagged and/or exhausted after sightseeing and shopping - but you will need to book as Fino's is rightly very popular. I was travelling on my own so squeezed in at the bar and had a lovely supper two nights in a row. The bar is also the place to enjoy your complimentary glass of wine between 5.30 and 6.30 which is a very nice touch. My room was clean and comfortably furnished and the bed was lovely and comfortable too. The bathroom was laughably small which could be a problem for some - I just admired the ingenuity of getting a shower, loo and sink in the same sized footprint as the wardrobe. One real bonus is that continental breakfast is served each morning on each floor so no need to get fully dressed just be decently covered and grab what you want to enjoy breakfast in bed with the TV on. The front desk staff are lovely and helpful and I really enjoyed my weekend at The Andrews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 644 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved this hotel. It's old world charm, combined with great central location was a big plus. A short stroll to Union Square and all the tours and restaurants was great. The area seemed a bit seedy at first, but not at all after the first hour. It has a fabulous Italian restaurant downstairs that was amazing food at not a bad price too. The breakfast outside our door each morning was a lovely touch, and the price was certainly right. Mainly this is just a good, clean, comfortable place to stay right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GayleJMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just spent two wonderful days at the Andrews Hotel in San Francisco. The building is historic, and so is the elevator, but that just added to its charm. The gracious touches of fresh flowers in our room, complimentary chocolates, and glass of wine each night were very welcome, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The onsite restaurant, Fino, serves delicious food, and it was very nice to be able to dine there after a busy day of sightseeing. We opted for the smallest room, so did not expect much space, but we enjoyed our time there tremendously. Location is terrific, just two blocks from Union Square and the cable car line.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, staff were friendly and hotel was clean, room was on the small side but I expect that with city hotels. However, the bathroom was a bit of a let down, old fashioned, poorly decorated, old and quirky are fine but this was just old. Breakfast was OK, nothing fantastic, juice, cereal, croissant, coffee and some fresh fruit. It's position in SF good, not far from Powell St BART, close to Chinatown and shopping if you like that sort of thing. Had dinner the first night in Finos, effectively the hotel restaurant, was very busy and food was good, would recommend reserving a table if you plan to eat there on your first night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapparsteche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Small and charming....we were out and about during our stay so it was nice to be near Union Square. Safe neighborhood. Nice touch in lobby with Citris water, coffee, etc. Free breakfast of coffee and Danish, croissants, juice. Free glass of wine after five. Not too far from Bart train so we walked.and used public trans throughout San Francisco area. Room was small but comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. If you want luxury hotel, it doesn't work but it was perfect for us and the price was great!!!! Staff were extremely helpful. Recommend for sure!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Andrews looks quaint and like a boutique hotel from the outside. The inside is quite different. I am used to staying in older San Francisco hotels, so I know the rooms can be small and sometimes a little funky, but this place gave us the creeps. I will say that it was clean, but the beds were SO uncomfortable. We could feel the springs in the bed. The guy at the front desk was a little unwelcoming. They had a nice little continental breakfast, so for that and the fact that the room was clean, I gave it a two rating instead of one, but I won't be staying here again, ever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fweeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

First visit to SF. Hotel was good value with helpful staff especially with arranging trips,shuttle etc. Particularly liked complimentary breakfast - and glass of wine! Room adequate and more character than bigger chains. Would visit again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
55 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
1,151 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
808 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,387 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $119 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing