We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, relaxing getaway”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just spent two wonderful days at the Andrews Hotel in San Francisco. The building is historic, and so is the elevator, but that just added to its charm. The gracious touches of fresh flowers in our room, complimentary chocolates, and glass of wine each night were very welcome, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The onsite restaurant, Fino, serves delicious food, and it was very nice to be able to dine there after a busy day of sightseeing. We opted for the smallest room, so did not expect much space, but we enjoyed our time there tremendously. Location is terrific, just two blocks from Union Square and the cable car line.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Andrews Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, staff were friendly and hotel was clean, room was on the small side but I expect that with city hotels. However, the bathroom was a bit of a let down, old fashioned, poorly decorated, old and quirky are fine but this was just old. Breakfast was OK, nothing fantastic, juice, cereal, croissant, coffee and some fresh fruit. It's position in SF good, not far from Powell St BART, close to Chinatown and shopping if you like that sort of thing. Had dinner the first night in Finos, effectively the hotel restaurant, was very busy and food was good, would recommend reserving a table if you plan to eat there on your first night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapparsteche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Small and charming....we were out and about during our stay so it was nice to be near Union Square. Safe neighborhood. Nice touch in lobby with Citris water, coffee, etc. Free breakfast of coffee and Danish, croissants, juice. Free glass of wine after five. Not too far from Bart train so we walked.and used public trans throughout San Francisco area. Room was small but comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. If you want luxury hotel, it doesn't work but it was perfect for us and the price was great!!!! Staff were extremely helpful. Recommend for sure!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Andrews looks quaint and like a boutique hotel from the outside. The inside is quite different. I am used to staying in older San Francisco hotels, so I know the rooms can be small and sometimes a little funky, but this place gave us the creeps. I will say that it was clean, but the beds were SO uncomfortable. We could feel the springs in the bed. The guy at the front desk was a little unwelcoming. They had a nice little continental breakfast, so for that and the fact that the room was clean, I gave it a two rating instead of one, but I won't be staying here again, ever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fweeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

First visit to SF. Hotel was good value with helpful staff especially with arranging trips,shuttle etc. Particularly liked complimentary breakfast - and glass of wine! Room adequate and more character than bigger chains. Would visit again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Andrews is just two blocks from Union Square (uphill, though), so location is not a problem. Haven't had issues with the size of the room (a bit small sized, but not tiny). Staff was ok but not particularly friendly. Breakfast included is also a plus, even though lacks variety.

Lack of A/C wasn't a problem as well. Room was very clean, no complaints about that. Only problem we had was related to street noise at night.

I'd surely be back if on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presidente_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The wife and I stayed at this hotel in August 2012. We really enjoyed our stay while we were here. The building itself was erected in 1905 (obviously remodeled since) which gives it some of that historic charm. The hotel is clean and our rooms were cleaned everyday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the fact that our continental breakfast was served on our floor so it was a quick walk to grab my coffee, fruit and pastry and back to my room.

The location is about 2 blocks from Powell street and 6 blocks from some good shopping and the BART/metro.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#106 of 229 in San Francisco
1,134 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing