We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
299
202
77
46
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
202
77
46
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastbunk bedsunion squarecommon areasairport shuttleprivate bathroomyour luggagearound the cornercentral locationdormcurtainsprivacysfcityalleybackpackerslock
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 676 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Nice accomodation in city center. Rooms are clean despite not very roomy. Staff is kind and willing to help. I think it is a good price permormance choice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlSt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The problem with Adelaide is that you don't actually get to stay there. We had booked with them and upon arrival were told to go across the street to the Dakota hotel. The Dakota was a bit run down, but would have been bearable had it not been for the bed bugs. I had huge red welts all over my body and it was really just gross. Plus there is always the danger that the bugs travel home with you.
Staff reacted extremely unfriendly to our complaint and only re-imbursed us for one night.
I would avoid the Adelaide (and the Dakota) at all costs.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
3  Thank jinxjinxjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Although shuttle driver didn't quite know where to go (down a little lane), was a great place to base yourself. The atmosphere is really nice and cosy with couches by the fireplace where you can curl up and read a book or chat to other travellers.

Rooms are basic and linens a little worn, but fine for a cheap place to stay. Water pressure in shower wasn't the best, more like a trickle but clean.

Breakfast is good with bagels, toast and croissants.

Location is good and only a couple of blocks to union square.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzy_Bee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Perfect location
Nice bathrooms
Rooms ok
Nice community areas (where you prepare your breakfast)
Very helpful staff

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punkshillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

This place has a wonderful location (about 2 blocks from Union Square), and the 24 hour reception always give you a friendly welcome.

The 'cosy lounge area' is great and there's almost always someone sat in there to chat to - the free internet on the 7-8 computers available is also a huge perk.

The lack of a lift is a bit of a pain but nothing unusual in a budget hostel so not worth moaning about!

We stayed in a dorm room for 10 - while there's not a huge amount of room for luggage etc. the beds are comfy enough - the only drawback would be that you dont get handed clean linen directly...but they seem to do washing regularly so I'm sure all the stuff on the bed is clean!!

The kitchen area is large and the free breakfast (croissants, bagels, muffins, bread etc.) is great - running until 11 means you can lie in without worrying!! Free tea and coffee all day and night is also very welcoming after a long day (or night)!

We were there for New Years eve and the organised event was amazing - everyone really had a great time and the people running it encouraged everyone to get involved meaning we made lots of friends.

In general - a really friendly sociable place - If you're after a place to stay on a budget and want to meet people - STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leh220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews