We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor front office staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor front office staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wanted to check out a day early from a private room and the front office staff refused a refund despite requesting 24 hours in advance. Asked 3 different front office receptionists to be told that it would be possible initially. When check-out time came , I was told the manager had been spoken to and that I should have given notice 48 hours in advance. Really lame!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinnaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    182
    73
    42
    46
See reviews for
23
72
244
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yomitan-son, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

First time a stayed in a hostel. I'm traveling through and decided to stay in SF for 3 days to check the place out. Basically just needed a place to sleep, shower, and charge my phone.
I found the room I stayed in the first night to be absolutely disgusting bit that was the fault of the occupants, not the staff. Toilets and showers were very clean. The downstairs living room was a really cool area. I never used the kitchen so I can really comment on that. As for the staff, I only really dealt with one girl, I think her name was Julie maybe, she was awesome. She help me out any time I needed anything. 2 thumbs up for that hire!
All in all not a bad experience at all. Like I said though, it really worked for what I needed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyatt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I'd highly recommend this hostel to any international students or young travelers. Although the rooms are not the best (they only have the very basics), the place itself is very clean, with thoughtful decoration and a great atmosphere. The common rooms feel like very big but cozy living rooms, and the kitchen area has all you could need. The breakfast is also very complete.

Some negative things to take into account: they could benefit from having more bathrooms; the beds are a bit old and noisy; and it may be a bit noisy during the night, but nothing too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebHoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

No words to say how much a liar and these comments, I've been staying at the Adelaide Hostel, polite staff bad, stole my cell phone iphone 5s, I informed the owner known as PJ, arrogant, not looking at our face and said he could do nothing.
Dirty rooms, with many badbugs, cheap, and many people, a dirty kitchen, with refrigerator stench of old food, and the only thing good location, close to Union Square.
Beware, do not be fooled by the comments, you reserve in Adelaide send you to the Dakota, or vise verse dirty place both hostel.No words to say how much a liar and these comments, I've been staying at the Adelaide Hostel, polite staff bad, stole my cell phone iphone 5s, I informed the owner known as PJ, arrogant, not looking at our face and said he could do nothing.
Dirty rooms, with many badbugs, cheap, and many people, a dirty kitchen, with refrigerator stench of old food, and the only thing good location, close to Union Square.
Beware, do not be fooled by the comments, you reserve in Adelaide send you to the Dakota, or vise verse dirty place both hostel.

Room Tip: No words to say how much a liar and these comments, I've been staying at the Adelaide Hostel, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Julian 823,

I apologize you had such a bad experience here at the Adelaide. Anyhow, I would like to take this chance to shed some lights on a couple of issues you have mentioned in your review that could be a little misleading for other travellers. Rooms both at the Adelaide and the Dakota get thoroughly cleaned every day, while bathrooms gets cleaned three times on a daily basis; the kitchen gets cleaned after breakfast and after its closing time at 10pm: our staff does the best to keep everything up to standard, but you may understand that we do not have control over people who do not clean up after themselves. About the fridge, it gets cleaned every week: our staff throws old food or food of guests that have already left the hostel, cleans the fridge, and makes space for upcoming guests.
I have not quite understood the part of your Iphone 5s: I am sorry you have lost or misplaced your phone, but I must say that our staff is trustworthy and has been so for a long time. If you want you can contact us privately you can do so by sending an email to info@adelaidehostel.com and tell us more details about the case; we will be happy to investigate.
Regarding the bed bugs, although it is true that it can happen and I'd like to remind that it happens everywhere, we do make sure to take a prompt action on it. We steam rooms, change linens, curtains and matresses, and disinfest everything.
Again, we do apologize if you had a bad experience, but I would not go that far by calling someone a liar or arrogant: I can assure you we do care about people and work our best to make sure they have an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koronowo, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hostel on pics looks great but went we got there they told us to go to Dakota hostel ( very close to Adelaide). Elevator looked like it was about to fall down. Hostel was very dirty and stinky. Bed was incredibly uncomfortable. Breakfast wasn't so bad but also realy good. All in all only good thing about this place is realy good location. But for that pice don't expect a lot. Because of good location and price I rated it as "avarage".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I lived in San Jose and when I stayed in San Francisco at weekends, I stayed at the Adelaide Hostel every time!
The staff are brilliant, friendly and very helpful! Free Breakfast in the morning is a huge plus and a great saving for those travelling!
Appeared to attract a great mix of people which was great!
Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean.
Located in the heart of SF, this place is a must when staying in SF especially with it big such great value! Will def be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hylo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

On our recent west coast road trip, the Adelaide was my favourite hostel. A nice mixed atmosphere with some families and older travellers as well as your standard bunch of young people. Good sturdy bunks built into the wall mean there's none of that awkward clambering up a wobbly bunk, disturbing everyone as the frame squeaks and creaks. Also the big lockers under the bunks were big enough to fit two suitcases. The staff were helpful, the breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and the location was fantastic (lots of key attractions including Fisherman's Wharf and the Mission are walkable). All of the above for good old cheap hostel prices! I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 51 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Property: Adelaide Hostel
Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing