We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly clean and good value for money”
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly clean and good value for money”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I booked a private room for 5 nights but on arrival was told I was located in the Dakota hotel/hostel 1 block down the road.. a bit annoying since that wasn't listed on the website but I went with it. NOT a fan of the dakota at all; front desk staff were quite rude and inattentive .. took a few minutes of me standing at the front desk before the felt like acknowledging me. Room smelled horrible like smoke (even though its non smoking) and bedding looked like it was from 50 years ago! I honestly was considering changing to another hotel and taking the money hit.

Then I took my chances and asked to change to the Adelaide at the front desk and a lovely lady did so very nicely at 8pm at night. NOW - huge double double private, clean, nice linens, nice bathroom and no smells whatsoever.
Huge kitchen and washing machine/dryer, breakfast is a carb delight but its free and location is super close to downtown. A tad noisy on the main floor where I stayed but I always got a good nights sleep and was happy to be in the Adelaide so I'm not complaining.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    187
    75
    42
    48
See reviews for
24
74
250
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent a wonderful 3 weeks at the Adelaide hostel and enjoyed my stay so much I even returned for a second visit. PJ and his friendly staff are happy to help with any requests and the hostel's central location nestled in a little alleyway off the main drag are as much as you could ever hope for.

Free breakfasts are pretty good and the bunks in most rooms are spacious and private.

I'd happily recommend the hostel to any friends or family visiting SF in the future.

Room Tip: Golden Gates room in the basement is well placed for kitchen and veranda plus its a little cooler wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re glad you liked it so much you came back- it’s the kind of place which makes a lot of people become regulars, and part of the Adelaide family! PJ is always working hard to make it a special place to stay. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The value for money is normal, I paid about 28 dollars per night on average including taxes. Breakfast is plentiful, coffee or tea, bagels, cream cheese, jam, a small bowl of fresh fruit. The kitchen is well equipped, although I recommend extending the time to cook at night. The rooms are comfortable, well distributed, clean sheets. No towels supplied, changed my original room because was in repair during that week. Front desk staff is usually attentive, not so the night staff. It has an atm machine in the main room, comfortable armchairs and tables, three desktop computers that work well without virus. If I return to San Francisco, it's probably me staying in this hostel again. Wifi service works very well overall including rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloWorldAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The style inside really fits in with what you'd expect of San Fran - and in an awesome historical lane too. Location was incredible - we walked almost everywhere, plus it was close to F-train, buses, cable cars and metro. Bars/restaurants etc all nearby too.
Staff were incredibly friendly and their daily breakfast is delicious and extremely generous!
Activities planned are great, especially the Wild SF walking tour!! But also nighttime activities - great for those wanting to meet people and on a budget.
Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderinroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you! We’re glad you got to enjoy the activities and the Wild SF walking tour! We try to offer as many free and fun things to do as possible so everyone can enjoy the city and meet new people regardless of budget! Come see us again the next time you’re in the Bay area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights here, we had a nice and clean private bedroom with our own bathroom , very quite even if it was near the hall. No place to hang cloths.The staff is friendly. Abundant breakfast. The location is excellent, but the parking nearby was extremely expensive. Anyway, best hostel we've ever been, we definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvirarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed at Countless hostels and this is the best one I've been to in the U.S. Apart from the fact it is centrally located, it is also easy to get to from the airport. The staff are the biggest plus and create a fun atmosphere. What makes this place stick out is the activities that the hostel runs which are great and better still free! It means that single travellers such as myself get a chance to talk to other travellers instead of the usual situation where you have a room full of people all staring into their Ipad/Phones. Good Breakfast and rooms are clean and spacious. I hope to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you Sharon! We do try to make sure we are keeping a fun atmosphere, and one where you can get to know new people through the different activities we offer! We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a few hostels along the west coast and this was by far the best. Great location, well priced, but most importantly, great staff who put in a lot of work to look after guests and maintain a comfortable atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank E Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
393 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
426 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 50 in San Francisco
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Property: Adelaide Hostel
Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Ln, San Francisco, CA 94102-1220 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing