We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are looking for a hostel i San Fran, go here. I have been travelling for tre months alone all over north/ south america, and stayed in many hostelst, but this one was really great! I went to all the big hostels the first week here, and i could say that this is really the best. This one is smaller, but has more atmosphere, is has a nice staff, nice cosy kitchen, and a perfect location downtown. The rooms were tidy and the bathrooms were clean! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 651 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 3 great nights there in january 2013! The location is perfect, near Union Square and the metro & bart station. The rooms are ok and the lobby as well. The kitchen is a really good to place to socialize, having a drink before going out, for the pub crawl organized by the hostel for example. The hostel also organizes some walking tour with locals (it's "free" but you have to tip) which are really great. Property is ok for an hostel and the breakfast is good.
I had great time there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rxfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place! I stayed in a private room, in a separate building, but only metres from the main hostel. The room had lovely furnishings and was serviced every day, and the free breakfast was amazing! Superb location, 2 blocks from Union Square. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent two nights here during January 2013 and found the place to be generally a good stay if you're into staying in hostels. We stayed in the privete room which was very basic as expected. Not well cleaned, lacked effort but not horrifying. Only real complaint was the shower that felt like you were being pissed on. Common room was excellent. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were generally good except for one cranky lady who greeted us. Would stay there again, it was a pleasant stay and within walking distance of everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erinbarnett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a private room with private bath in Jan. 2013 and enjoyed our stay there very much. Highlights included a hot breakfast with fresh fruit, free internet with plenty of computers available and a laid-back and very friendly vibe. Though we are middle aged college professors and older than most of the residents, we found everyone to be very approachable and helpful. Rooms are pretty basic but clean and the beds are comfortable. We had a room in the hostel itself but were never bothered by noise after hours. Every night there are activities organized and on some mornings there is also a free walking tour. We never visited the dorm part of the building, but other residents had good things to say about it, especially for the price. Long live the Adelaide!

Room Tip: Spring for the private room w/private bath. It's worth it. Also, book the shuttle from the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

woau!!! I recently stayed at adelaides hostel in Frisco. I have so many good things to say about this place that I dont know were to start but here it goes: it is clean, it is nice, the stuff is polite and efficient, the location is so great, many choices of rooms, free internet, good and cheap parking options. (16 dollars a day in Frisco is such a deal), great schudle service to airport, breakfast is so nice and abundant(on my last stay I had fruit, bread, coffee) This place is outstanding and recomend any body to stay there

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javier n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have traveled a good bit around the globe and The Adelaide hostel is by far the best hostel I have stayed in. Hats off to them. In my opinion its one of the top tourist attractions in San fran.The atmosphere is great and the rooms are kept too a high standard. Most nights, there's some organized event which make it easy to get to know other backpackers. Ive had some great nights here and will definitely stay here again when I return to SF.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
808 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
447 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,214 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Ln, San Francisco, CA 94102-1220 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $43 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing