We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent two nights here during January 2013 and found the place to be generally a good stay if you're into staying in hostels. We stayed in the privete room which was very basic as expected. Not well cleaned, lacked effort but not horrifying. Only real complaint was the shower that felt like you were being pissed on. Common room was excellent. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were generally good except for one cranky lady who greeted us. Would stay there again, it was a pleasant stay and within walking distance of everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erinbarnett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    187
    75
    42
    48
See reviews for
24
74
250
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a private room with private bath in Jan. 2013 and enjoyed our stay there very much. Highlights included a hot breakfast with fresh fruit, free internet with plenty of computers available and a laid-back and very friendly vibe. Though we are middle aged college professors and older than most of the residents, we found everyone to be very approachable and helpful. Rooms are pretty basic but clean and the beds are comfortable. We had a room in the hostel itself but were never bothered by noise after hours. Every night there are activities organized and on some mornings there is also a free walking tour. We never visited the dorm part of the building, but other residents had good things to say about it, especially for the price. Long live the Adelaide!

Room Tip: Spring for the private room w/private bath. It's worth it. Also, book the shuttle from the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

woau!!! I recently stayed at adelaides hostel in Frisco. I have so many good things to say about this place that I dont know were to start but here it goes: it is clean, it is nice, the stuff is polite and efficient, the location is so great, many choices of rooms, free internet, good and cheap parking options. (16 dollars a day in Frisco is such a deal), great schudle service to airport, breakfast is so nice and abundant(on my last stay I had fruit, bread, coffee) This place is outstanding and recomend any body to stay there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javier n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have traveled a good bit around the globe and The Adelaide hostel is by far the best hostel I have stayed in. Hats off to them. In my opinion its one of the top tourist attractions in San fran.The atmosphere is great and the rooms are kept too a high standard. Most nights, there's some organized event which make it easy to get to know other backpackers. Ive had some great nights here and will definitely stay here again when I return to SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not only have I stayed in Adelaide from time to time, but actually lived there for about 5 months this fall. I wouldn't have been able to if not for the accomodating nature of the hostel. It has its niche areas both for people who are in the city to party, and those who, like me, were there for work. The staff, which I eventually joined, is like a big family, even celebrating "orphan" holidays together. And the people who stay temporarily are from all over the world. All this, and the fact that the hostel is in the heart of the city, makes it your best bet in SF.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A friend and I visited this property in early December 2012 and it was excellent. The location is good, right in the middle between china town, fishermans wharf, haight st, mission district and golden gate park. Although it isn't "close" to these places. There are cheap buses and trams everywhere that can take you anywhere you'd like to go (passes can be purchased at any Walgreens). The hostel offers activities every night which allows travellers to bond and have a good time. The dorms were tidy, beds comfortable, lockers in each room and a nice common room with tv computers and board games.

Room Tip: No views in any room, inner city. Dorm rooms cheap and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We loved this hostel. When traveling, we usually pay a little extra for a private room and bathroom when possible. The Adelaide Hostel in San Francisco was a great experience. The private rooms are in a separate building and they're basically a hotel room. The bed is king size and super comfortable, the bathroom is clean and spacious, and the daily breakfast is perfect. The area the private hostel rooms are in are really good. They are right up the street from the huge shopping district and lots of restaurants. Also, it's about a 7 minute cab ride away from the Fisherman's Wharf and other districts - Italian, Chinese, etc. We walked back from the Fisherman's Wharf to our hostel area and were passing the different districts. It's really cool how you can noticeably see the change in cultures from street to street.
Highly recommend this hostel/hotel. It's in the Tenderloin District, but the area is not bad at all.
There are fitness centers nearby as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudsonShaddawvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
393 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
426 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 50 in San Francisco
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Property: Adelaide Hostel
Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Ln, San Francisco, CA 94102-1220 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing