We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place - underwhelming breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jackson Court San Francisco
Ranked #145 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We loved the Jackson Court. It's a beautiful building, the room was lovely, the bed was really comfortable. The only drawback was the continental breakfast was unremarkable. No protein other than highly sugared Yoplait yogurt. (Hard-boiled eggs would have been great.) And the kitchen in which it is served is cramped. That said I would stay here again, and just make plans to supplement my breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Jackson Court San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

The photos don't do it justice. This is a converted mansion not of the ostentatious type but with beautiful proportions, detail and grace. Two blocks from the heart of Fillmore. Wonderful people. Lovely.

Room Tip: All good. Facing the street might be best though one room at the rear of the house right off the liv...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

A lovely house with pleasant and helpful staff. Judging by my room only, the place could use some paint and new window coverings - general spruce up. Upholstery and bed coverings just looked old and tired. Otherwise, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast-dry cereal, yogurt and other grocery store provisions- a little disappointing for the price of the room. Don't even try to park in the neighborhood after 6 p.m.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent a lot of time trying to find a parking space. We ended up taking taxis everywhere so we wouldn't have to go through the stress of finding parking spaces.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabFemFrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I came here for the last 2 nights of my trip to San Fran, and the people running the place are verrrry nice! And it's so much quieter than a hotel where people run in and out of rooms all night! It's beautiful--the rooms that are larger are great (mine was a small yellow one upstairs with not much of a view at all, so I"d advise one of the larger ones unless you'd like to save a bit of $). If you can ignore the really dirty hallway wallpaper and carpets (I think they last changed the wallpaper and washed the carpets 40 years ago!), you'll like the place! The only other really odd thing was that they have carpeting in the bathrooms--wall-to-wall carpeting!!! But the great staff --and cafes nearby--make up for the fact that the owner is letting their building fall apart!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcnaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Plan to walk around and around this quiet and beautiful neighborhood! Also, plan to walk up a few flights of stairs and to bus stops or your car (on street parking where you can find it). This is a very old house (early 1900's I believe) that was turned into a bed / breakfast. The rooms are quite spacious but all are different so ask questions when you book. There is an adequate breakfast, nothing fancy... muffins, a few cereals, breads, bagels, English muffins (toaster), peanut butter, and some jams. There was fresh fruit (cut) and yogurt daily. Also milk and orange juice is provided. The breakfast room is open all day and you can leave food in the refrigerator as long as it is clearly labeled (labels provided). Tea is served in the living room (gorgeous!) by the fireplace daily. Free wi-fi! The bed was nice and comfortable as was all of the furniture. Again, this is an old old house so there are squeaky floors and old windows (that do open), carpets are a bit worn (especially in the hallways) but everything is clean. Honestly, we didn't see hotel personal after we checked in and, aside from breakfast room, we didn't see other guests! All in all, I am glad we stayed there. I prefer a bed / breakfast to large hotel for my romantic get-a-ways! This one is out of the way from the normal sight-seeing crowds and we very much appreciated the quiet.

Room Tip: Each room is different so ask questions!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritao_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here for three nights following our arrival in San Francisco from Manchester. It's a lovely, Victorian style B and B- the actual buidling is absolutely gorgeous and homely with great big rooms. Breakfast every morning was an absolute treat with everything a weary traveller could want and more!

The location was brilliant, both Filmore Street and Cow Hollow are close by and have loads of great bars, restaurants and shops. Service was really good, friendly and helpful. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
651 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
525 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Court San Francisco

Address: 2198 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94115-1540
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $253 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jackson Court San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in stately Pacific Heights, the Jackson Court is a magnificent brownstone mansion built in 1900. An arched entrance and flower-lined courtyard welcome you to the understated elegance and serenity of Jackson Court. Each of the ten guestrooms is individually decorated in a blend of antiques and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Court San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Jackson Court Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing