We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Comfortable and Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jackson Court San Francisco
Ranked #144 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautifully Comfortable and Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here for three nights following our arrival in San Francisco from Manchester. It's a lovely, Victorian style B and B- the actual buidling is absolutely gorgeous and homely with great big rooms. Breakfast every morning was an absolute treat with everything a weary traveller could want and more!

The location was brilliant, both Filmore Street and Cow Hollow are close by and have loads of great bars, restaurants and shops. Service was really good, friendly and helpful. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
35
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Wonderful old world decor and ambience.
Tea in the afternoon in front of the fireplace.
Chess parlor.
Rooms are beautiful, but dilapidated (in just the right way)
Breakfast was perfect...great fruit, yogurt, breads.. ( no preformed microwaved sausage thank you)
Management is completely unobtusive.
Short walk to Union Street, have a scotch or three at the Bus Stop.
A great place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDJD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in August 2010. As a traveller who has mostly stayed at chain hotels and motels in the past, this was a refreshing change. Each room is spacious, and has its own unique character and decor. Location was excellent and very central for exploring SF and its surrounding areas. It was on a quiet residential street and only a couple of blocks walking distance to a commercial street with very good restaurants. We met a few fellow travellers who stay there on a regular basis (I think they offer timeshare) as it is there home away from home. The only issue we had was parking in the area as the hotel has no parking lot. While parking is free on the street, it can be tough to find overnight parking in the late evening as many streets have restrictions where you can only park until very early next morning and then have to move the car due to street cleaning. We were not able to leave our car parked at the hotel for a full day during the week as street parking is limited to 2 hours. However, we used our car most days to explore SF and surrounding areas, so it was not an issue until returning to the neighbourhood at night. Overall, this hotel was a wonderful experience and we would definitely stay here again for its location and ambience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlee028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Lovely neighborhood; relatively quiet. Easy to park overnight on the street. We never needed taxis because we like walking.

However, this charming old home (1900) needs some help. It wasn't the cleanest place
we've ever stayed and for that reason alone we won't go back. Breakfast was cold cereal,
different breads with a toaster and coffee. Enough to get you going....

It has wonderful potential. If they would just clean it up!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slocountytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at Jackson Court for one night only at the end of our trip. We wish we had gone there earlier. We were upgraded to the suite which was luxury. included a roof top patio through a door in the suite. Bed was sooooo comfortable. Furnishings classy. Bathroom older style but clean and with everything you would need.
The common lounge area was beautifully furnished as was the small sitting room.
Continental breakfast was included and available on the second level. Fresh fruit, juice toast, coffee tea etc. Help yourself. This area was also to make a cuppa out of hours.
An afternoon tea is set up each day in the lounge area and is complimentary.
Staff were helpfull when we needed to print out our boarding passes.
Fillmore St, with buses, shops & restaurants are a short walk.
Only disadvantage is parking on street, OK 6pm to 8am free. with two hourly thereafter. so you dont have to move your car till 10am.
Would highly recommend as the cost here was comparable to a 2* Inn in Lombard Street which was cramped and pre packaged breakfast items which you had to collect and eat in your room sitting on the bed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder,co
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have stayed in Union Square, Nob Hill and now Jackson Court in Pacific Heights. This was the absolute best. This felt like a home away from home. The managers were unobtrusive, but were there if you needed them. The location was beautiful. We combined lots of walking with cabs. Union and Filmore Streets have wonderful boutiques..much more unique than Union Square. The views are amazing. I was there with my 2 daughters and we all loved it.
can't wait to return!!!!

  • Liked — it felt like home in an amazing location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janes1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at Jackson Court for 7 nights in July 2008, in the Blue Room.

We thought this was an excellent place to stay. The location was lovely - Pacific Heights is a quiet residential area and Jackson Court is only a 5-10 minute walk from some really lovely shops and restaurants on Filmore Street. It is not close to downtown or Union Square which is partly what makes it so lovely! It is easy to get to these areas by tram or bus. We are reasonably fit and pretty much walked everywhere from Jackson Court.

The room was very clean and spacious, and the decor was lovely. We used the free internet connection okay and the bed was super comfortable. We arrived very late - after 1am - are were still given a very friendly greeting by the night staff.

We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts - you help yourself in the kitchen and can either take it to your room on a tray or there is space for 4-6 people to eat in the kitchen. There was a fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurts, bagels, muffins and toast.

Overall, I thought this was an excellent place to stay - the price is quite high but for a treat I thought it was worth it. I would definitely stay there again, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHappyH0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#116 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#82 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Court San Francisco

Property: Jackson Court San Francisco
Address: 2198 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jackson Court San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in stately Pacific Heights, the Jackson Court is a magnificent brownstone mansion built in 1900. An arched entrance and flower-lined courtyard welcome you to the understated elegance and serenity of Jackson Court. Each of the ten guestrooms is individually decorated in a blend of antiques and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Court San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Jackson Court Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing