We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Near Union Square in a quaint boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #57 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
SE Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value Near Union Square in a quaint boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Had stayed in numerous other properties, so was a little reluctant to try a new one. Hotel is quaint, tastefully appointed, relatively quiet (for SanFran) and staff was superb. Wine tasting in the evenings was pleasant and relaxing. Rooms are a little smaller than some chains in suburbs, but relatively large for downtown San Francisco. My room was near the back so relatively quiet. Classy place for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dt0wn_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    573
    148
    47
    16
See reviews for
174
668
113
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Very nice boutique hotel in the heart of the Union Square area.
Nice room, amazing shower, nice lobby, exceptionally helpful staff.
Would stay here again anytime.
Request a room on a high floor in the back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBPlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night, before heading to wine country for our honeymoon. The hotel was perfect for what we needed. Good value, good location, and friendly staff. The rooms are small, but comfortable. We enjoyed a glass of wine downstairs for happy hour. The one drawback was the view. Our room had a view of the parking lot and wall of the building next door. Other than that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SondePatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Rex during the first part of our honeymoon trip through North America. We tend to favour smaller boutique hotels with character and this certainly did not disappoint. When we were greeted on arrival, we were congratulated on our recent marriage and upgraded to an Executive King Room which was very spacious - there was also a card and some chocolates waiting for us in the room which was a lovely surprise. The service was impeccable throughout and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very informative and also very proud of their City! We had breakfast once in Cafe Andree which was very nice although we ventured out during other days to enjoy what San Francisco had to offer! The free coffee in the morning and wine hour late afternoon is also a lovely touch and we really enjoyed this. The location is fantastic being just a couple of blocks from Union Square and the cable cars making it easy to get around. The only slight issue we had - and it was slight - is that occasionally the mini bar fridge can be a bit noisy during the night but this is nothing major. Overall, a great stay and start to our honeymoon and we will check out Joie de Vivre hotels if we are back in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgtb1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We arrived on a Friday, when the Rex has live music in the evening, and so found ourselves sitting with a glass of complimentary Cabernet listening to a string quartet of young musicians who were trying to make their way in the world; it was enough to bring a tear to a glass eye. I think that moment perfectly encapsulates the soul of the Rex.

OK it doesn't have tea and coffee makers in the rooms, which I regret. On the other hand it has free wifi throughout, an ipod docking station on the bedside table, and a large flat screen TV facing the bed. The hotel has an arty ambience with a definite Parisian flavour to it.

The location is very central, with the cable car at the end of the block, and Union Square and the Chinatown Gate only a couple of blocks away. Loads of eating places around - we breakfasted at Lori's on the corner, and I fulfilled what seems like a lifetime ambition to ask for corned beef hash and eggs over easy - now I know what that means!

We got caught up in the volcanic ash crisis, and the receptionist went the extra mile to find an extra couple of nights for us in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

My wife and I went to the city for a quick get-away weekend. We loved the location of this hotel. Only 2 blocks from Union Square!!! Our room was very clean & comfortable. We had a great breakfast the next morning at the Cafe Andre.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Very nice little boutique hotel at a great location just a block or so from Union Square. I really liked the decor and atmosphere, but our room could have been better. It was certainly clean and nice, but the floor was slanted (yes, slanted) and during the night, I kept sliding into my husband while we were sleeping. Also, our TV reception was TERRIBLE. We couldn't see certain channels b/c it was so bad. Lastly, the towels in the bath were really rough and scratchy. I'm betting the "slanted room problem" could easily have been resolved by our requesting to move to another room, but we got too wrapped up in having fun in San Fran. I liked the hotel more than my husband did. I think that it depends on what room you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianacollado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing