We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly service, welcoming atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #44 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Ct
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly service, welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I recently stayed at the Hotel Rex for two nights with a group of friends and really enjoyed it. The front desk, bartenders and staff were friendly and extremely helpful, which made our stay even more special. The location, in Union Square, is extremely convenient and the overall experience was perfect. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a small boutique hotel, in a convenient location. at a reasonable price.

We stayed in a spacious one bedroom suite, which had a large living area, a couch, a comfortable chair, a table and chairs, a large flat screen TV and a half bath. The bedroom had a comfortable king bed, a chaise in the corner, and a full bath. The suite was a perfect place to relax with a group of friends or for a family looking for a little more space. The room was quiet and we couldn't hear any road noise at all, even with the window open.

Our friends stayed in a room with two queen beds which was smaller than the suite, but certainly comfortable. I've read some reviews where people complained about the room size but it was more than adequate, certainly bigger than other rooms I've stayed in at other city hotels. The room was bright and airy. Beds were comfortable.

Each night, from 5PM-6PM, there was a wine reception in the lounge area, where guests received a complimentary glass of wine. The lounge was quaint and lovely and there was plenty of seating for the guests. Coffee and tea were served in the morning in the same location, which was also a really nice touch. Once again, the staff couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience at The Hotel Rex. The location is perfect, the hotel feels quite safe and the atmosphere is welcoming. We always looked forward to coming back to the hotel after sightseeing all day. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, clean, comfortable and convenient hotel in the heart of San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shareee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    546
    133
    44
    13
See reviews for
168
628
107
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I had a great experience at Hotel Rex. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful. My room was well lit, clean and beautifully decorated. There was a nice large flat screen tv, comfortable large bed, wifi Plus the valet service was a deal. I will refer friends and family. I hope to stay at the Rex again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AishaCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
413 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

A small friendly hotel - with great staff - and a free glass of wine in the early evenings, often accompanied by live music - with the ambience of a cultured small private club rather than the soulless anticharm of a chain hotel. The first room we were offered was rather gloomy, but thge second - no quibbling - was just great. To be recommended - we would go again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Hotel Rex is the best of many worlds with it's dog friendly central location, along with well appointed rooms and hotel amenities, this truly is a place I will return to. With the complimentary glass of wine in the bar in the early evening and the restaurant on site, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otbc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

From checking in to checking out, the front desk check-in person was extremely helpful, friendly, and warming. He upgraded our room to a deluxe king for no additional charges. He also extended our check-out time by 1hour since we were running a little late. The room was clean and very comfortable. We would definitely return if we ever needed a place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Hotel, has a back to the 50ish kind of feel, with updated amenities. Loved the room decor, from the paint on the walls, to the artistic lamps and furniture. The linens were upscale, and comfortable, and the rooms are arranged well, no wasted space, but ample at the same time. We really enjoyed the romantic feel of the entire space from the lobby, and bar, to the restaurant "Cafe Andree' ". The staff was very courteous, and accommodated all of our requests. Some of the nicest people I've met in the Hotel Industry. It is just a block off Union Square, and within easy walking / driving distance to anywhere in downtown SF.
My girlfriend and I had a very enjoyable stay, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The rooms were reasonably sized and the staff in the reception was friendly. All enquiries were solved fast and professional. The hotel is located close to the Union Square so everything is easy to reach.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CarolinSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#39 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,812 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#19 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing