We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the Rex very much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Ranked #68 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I have never been to San Francisco before. After some research (this site mostly) I decided to book Hotel Rex. We liked the hotel very much. It was very clean and very friendly. We were in a nice location, and walked around Union Square to take in the sights. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something that was not a typical stay = Not a Best Western. This hotel had style and character, and was very comfy and cozy. Food in this neighbourhood was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellulaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

With it's close proximity to Union Square (less than a block), the Hotel Rex is the perfect spot for a San Francisco shopping trip. The staff is superb and service couldn't be better. Free wine is served each evening in the Library which includes a full-service bar. The best part is sipping a beverage on Friday nights in the Library, while listening to live music and having a bite to eat from Cafe Andree, the restaurant adjoining the Hotel Rex. It's San Francisco's best.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viaggiare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The Hotel Rex must go out of their way to hire the very best staff available. Anytime of day or night our requests or questions were taken care of by the friendliest staff I have encountered. The Hotel itself is very nice and in a great location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable if a little small. They also must have the worlds smallest elevator. If you are lucky, Max the Pug will be there to greet you in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoganpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

This is a very convenient hotel in a great part of San Francisco! It doesn't matter whether you are there on business or pleasure - it will fit anyone's needs. The staff is helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The Hotel Rex has everything you could want plus old San Francisco charm.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I am a frequent visitor to Hotel Rex in San Francisco. I like the fact that it is a small hotel with very good personal service. It is on the same block as the Powell Street trolly, and only one block from Union Square with all its shopping and restaurants. The only drawback is lack of parking, but the valet system works very well. I love this hotel! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Rex. The location is excellent - close to the BART stop, cable cars and the streetcar. Easy walking to Chinatown, the Embarcadero and Nob Hill. The room was nicely decorated, good size, a lot of light and the bathroom was large. We loved the library like bar. Felt like we were in a European hotel. Staff was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWheel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,375 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
3,633 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex San Francisco

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $149 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing