We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rex Hotel is the King”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #55 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Rex Hotel is the King”
Reviewed March 25, 2005

Have stayed at the Rex many times and always found the staff friendly, capable and a pleasure to deal with. Great location, on the edge of Union Square, theaters and Chinatown. And no hills to climb! The Rex is funky, fun and don't miss the afternoon wine hour. Special feature are the two suites on the top floor. Can accomodate four guest as both the bedroom and living room are quite large. And the suite contains 1 and 1/2 baths which certainly adds to the comfort. The computer room has two computers, a printer and is rarely busy - and it's all free.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    590
    160
    47
    18
See reviews for
184
691
118
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2005

My 4 night stay at the Hotel Rex exceeded all expectations. Here is the lowdown:
Location - Perfect. The Rex is close to the Theater District and Union Square, but remote enough so that you don't feel like a tourist. Access to cable cars and buses is great. All major downtown sights are an easy walk. Also, the Bart trains are not far; if you don't mind walking 4 blocks and don't have a ton of luggage, I recommend using Bart to get to the Rex from the airport.
Atmosphere - Polished and serene, with a european feel minus any "attitude." My small, immaculate room on the second floor was completely silent - absolutely no view, but I really didn't care becase the decor was lovely and fun. Nice size bathroom too. Somehow, I lucked out and had a window air conditioner, but I am not sure if all rooms have this.
Service - Front desk staff are attentive and hardworking. Cafe Andree has great food at surprisingly low prices. Even room service was inexpensive. The business center is convenient (no charge), and my room was promptly cleaned every day.
Price - At $175 per night booked on the Rex website, I received a voucher for a full breakfast each morning and tickets to the Asian Art Museum. Well worth it, no regrets.
Lastly, if I am not mistaken, the chain that owns the Rex maintains headquarters directly across the street from the hotel. If this serves as an incentive to keep the hotel running smoothly, it sure is working!

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plannerguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

The Rex, with its great downtown location and friendly staff, enhances a San Francisco trip, especially if you like jazz. Even though the days I stayed were very busy for the staff, they were consistently pleasant and hard-working. They helped create a friendly, salon-like atmosphere in the hotel lounge. The wine reception every evening added to the feeling of festivity. My room was a little warm, though, so you might want to ask the staff about locating you in a cooler section of the hotel. There you can lie back, enjoy the jazz CD's provided in the room, and feel like a valued guest. By the way, the Andre Restaurant in the hotel serves intereting food at prices most guests will appreciate. The chocolate truffle tower is definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2005

My husband and I attended an academic conference and stayed at the Hotel Rex for 3 nights, beginning March 16. We loved this hotel!

Pros: It's in the middle of town (about 2 blocks from Union Square) but very quiet! (We recently stayed in New York, at another hotel that was situated in a similar area....it was extremely noisy!). The rooms at the Rex have a lot of character, not "cookie-cutter", or corporate looking.

Housekeeping was great. Everything was spotless.

There is a business center off the lobby with 2 computers and a printer.

Concierge was excellent. We had called to have him arrange for our transportation to Oakland Airport (a 20-30 minute ride on a Sat morning). We had planned to hire a well-known shuttle service in the area. The concierge told us that the shuttle service we had chosen had a reputation for not showing up and suggested an alternative service that was actually less expensive and more dependable. By the way, Oakland Airport is a great alternative to SF Airport.

The Rex will give an additional discount if you find a lower rate than what they offer on their website. We found a lower rate on hotels and they honored the agreement ($114/night!!), no problem.

Cons: Just 2 very minor complaints, but just in case anyone cares....it's an old building so the rooms are small, but there is plenty of room for 2 people. Also, they could use a better reading light over the bed (the table lamps don't provide good reading light).

The Hotel Rex is the perfect place to stay in San Francisco. I wish they had one in NY!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micnadkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

This is a rare find- this hotel is incredibly nice, with class and sophistication, in a great location, and yet it is totally affordable. We used to live in San Francisco and whenever people would come visit we would reccommend this hotel. The artwork in the hotel is really neat, the bar downstairs is fun, the staff are very friendly- it kind of feels like you have traveled back in time to a hotel in the 1920's.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkeyser27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2005

Very charming hotel with artsy interior, located in the perfect part of town for sightseeing. The staff was extremely helpful and responsive. The room was lovely -- only problem was a wall air conditioner that didn't work very well in that the "low" setting was a full-on cold air blast. The room was stuffy and warm or getting blasted with cold air, so that wasn't so great. Otherwise, comfy bed and loads of amenities. Definitely eat at the hotel's cafe -- delicious high-end fare at incredibly reasonable prices. Loved our stay -- we will come back again... in the winter!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayFourth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE MARYLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2005

My first visit to the Hotel Rex in downtown San Francisco was fabulous. The hotel is adorable, one block from fabulous Union Square, but the most amazing part was the front desk staff!!!! They were sweet, knowledgeable, and FUN. I felt as if I was home for a holiday visit with family. Great decor...fabulous capuccino in adjoining cafe in the morning...can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel!!
Thank you for a great visit Sara H Baltimore MD

Helpful?
1 Thank sarabug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing