We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Quaint and cozy"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #41 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Quaint and cozy"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Rex from July 5-9, 2014 with friends and we were very pleased with our stay. The desk staff were very friendly and accommodating and helped arrange transportation for us from our hotel to the airport. Our room and bathroom were clean and the atmosphere was very cozy and quaint. The hotel took care of the original architecture of the building inside and out. We felt very comfortable, safe and did not hear noise from others that stayed there. We had easy access to a variety of transportation, restaurants, shopping and sights. We were invited to have a glass of wine each evening with the other guests and a newspaper was provided each day, as well. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    528
    131
    42
    13
See reviews for
162
613
106
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel has a great central location that is just off the main street, so it's nice and quiet, but still close enough to transit, shops and restaurants. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful--although we did not initially plan on going on a wine tour, the concierge highly recommended one and helped us book it. We stayed in an executive suite, so there was plenty of room and the bathroom was a decent size. The bar offers a complimentary glass of wine offered daily from 5 to 6 pm, which a nice feature to our stay, although we only profited from that on the first night. I highly recommend this hotel for couples looking for a nice stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rex for 10 days for a work trip. The staff is super friendly and the hotel offers so much to guests, including the free glass of wine between 5 and 6 every night at the bar ;) It's located super close to Union Square and there are lots of restaurants and stores close by. I definitely recommend staying at the Rex for a pleasant visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhueners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As has been said, the rooms are a little small, as are the bathrooms. The evening wine was nice, as was the eclectic décor. The location was great, walking distance to many restaurants. Parking, not connected to the hotel, was nearby, but $35-50 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sborodolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for exploring San Fran. The hotel is quirky and much smaller than typical American hotels - it is much more like a European city hotel, which adds to its charm. The free house wine for guests during wine hour was a nice touch if you are around.
The service at the front desk was really hit and miss. The lady who checked us in was fantastic and set the tone for what we thought was going to be the best hotel service we had on our trip. However, not all staff members offered the same level of service, and some were disinterested and rude.
The cleaning staff did the best job of cleaning a room each day that I have ever seen. Everything was spotless and organised perfectly each day.
No shower gel is provided in the bathrooms, only soap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Such a great place to stay in the middle of San Francisco. The service is outstanding -- every single person who was at the desk was helpful, always. The hotel has great charm along with its history. The evening wine pours are much fun; the bar food is really good; the events, including Movies on Monday are perfect ways to complete or compliment a day. I am definitely booking here again. In fact, my group stayed on two occasions during this last trip since we broke up the trip with side ventures to wine country.

Many choices in San Francisco, but this is one to consider. The hotel was fully booked every night!

Room Tip: No noise in any of the areas of this hotel. We stayed in two different rooms on each night of a thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

A nice clean hotel with a very good position that's relatively close to everything you'll want to see. The staff are very good and we got upgraded as it was our honeymoon. The hotel looks slightly dated but it adds to the charm in my opinion. Good value too

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyeggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#31 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,518 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#39 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#19 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing