We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #57 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“My favorite place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I come to San Francisco every year to see family and I always stay at the Hotel Rex. Its perfectly located near Union Square which allows access to the entire city. Customer service has always been fantastic and they remember you by name. Jeff and Sacred are my favorites there as they know all the great places to eat and visit.

I, also, find the complimentary wine, decor, and music are quite the treat after a long day of playing tourist. I look forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexluthorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Sandy:
The entire team at the Hotel Rex really enjoyed being the central point of your wedding group. Your entire group had such great energy and really added to our hotel that weekend.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    573
    148
    47
    16
See reviews for
174
666
113
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Hotel Rex earlier than expected Friday for a weekend wedding (on treasure island). Our room was ready so check in was a breeze. Valet parking had no problem parking our extended cab truck (at a reasonable price) We were on the 7th (top) floor. Others have mentioned noise but it was very quiet where we were. The elevator was small but never took that long. Our room had an air conditioner that we used since it was muggy that day. Hotel Rex is in a great location to take a walk anywhere in the city. The wedding party had a block of rooms so the price was very reasonable for the city. Had a fun trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Sandy:

Our entire team loved having your wedding group stay with us. It was such a pleasure to see how you were all genuinely celebrating the wedding couple.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, circa 1907, is quaint, well-appointed and centrally located just 2 blocks off Union Square. Pricing is very fair for SF and good rates can be found with a little online digging. The Library Bar is charming and provides ample sitting area. They don't serve beverages, however, until 5pm.

Even though we had a room at the back of the building, it was loud. Also we could hear telephone conversations in the next room. Regular banging and other odd noises were heard throughout the day and night. Probably typical of the old building. Our room temp was consistently hot. I opened the window and even ran the AC on a rainy March day, but was still warm.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are listening! We have a few more coolers on order for the rooms that seem too warm for people and starting Mid May we will open our bar at 4pm.
Thanks for your feedback,
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

My team and I stayed here for a work trip & generally I was charmed by this spot, but a few issues. 1 - It is a loud area. But so is anywhere you stay around here. So, def. ask for a room that is not facing the street. However, 2 - If you are not facing the street your room will be DARK. Like, VERY DARK. No natural light to be had, but again, you'll have this issue everywhere. And 3 - It is older, but well maintained EXCEPT for the windows. Very old, paint cracking off, dusty, and you can't really open them. With rooms this small, needs to be an option, as it gets very stuffy. In short, I recommend, but understand what you're getting. Good place to stay if you like shopping too!

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing street - Sacrifice a view and any chance for natural light for a quieter ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliagulia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Juliagulia:
Wedding Singer reference? One of my favorite movies.
Thank you for your honest feedback and we will be addressing these issues . It may not happen immediately but we are working on it.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is great! Right in the centre of the city and close to the wharf. We could easily walk to anywhere in the city! The reception staff were friendly and willing to assist with tour reservations and any other queries/requests we had while staying at the hotel. The rooms were clean, well presented, spacious and the bed was comfy! The restaurant and bar were wonderful, live music, free glass of wine during happy hour, quite and cosy. From the moment you check in you feel at home! I highly recommend this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sarah G:
Thanks for the great review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the newly refreshed live music program in our bar. Hope you return to SF and the Rex.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My daughters and I drove up to San Francisco for a long weekend. We were pleasantly surprised by the unique literary decor. The staff was welcoming and very accommodating. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Quality linens and nice showers. Complimentary wine (1 glass) every night in their small but cozy Library theme bar. Valet parking worked out great, and location was perfect for walking to all tourist locations in city. My only complaint and this is more principle than anything else, is that they charged us a fee to ask them advise on tourist information. It was only .10 per question, but tacky, very tacky.

Room Tip: We were in the back, much quieter and larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 711GMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
This is the second time someone has mentioned ten cents a question . I am bewildered because all information is given freely and never with a charge. I am thinking that one of my front desk hosts known for his dry sense of humor was joking. But, if you really were charged I feel terrible and embarrassed and will rectify immediately.
thank you so much,
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Returned to the Hotel Rex after a 10 month absence and were again greeted by the same excellent service in a centrally located, charming boutique hotel. Rooms are on the small side but wonderfully appointed. Library bar was its quiet, cozy self with a charm all it's own. Look forward to returning in the Fall.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear DBIT:
We hope to see you again and sooner than ten months. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing