We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #55 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, centrally located”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in September and would definitely recommend. The hotel is well located, close to union square, shopping and restaurants. There are not a lot of amenities, ie pool, fitness centre, but rooms are nicely decorated and appointed. The breakfast in the restaurant in the morning was well done and dinner ordered from the bar in the evening was really good. Wine tasting in the bar is a nice touch.

Front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful and the bartender was great.

Coffee makers in the room would be a nice upgrade. Free coffee in lobby is nice but who wants to get dressed before their first hit of caffeine:-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel away from the street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    583
    153
    47
    16
See reviews for
177
678
117
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in mid September. The first night was disturbed by the loud drone of an air con unit just outside the room. The window opened up directly to a wall which we could touch! We complained and were moved and upgraded. The staff were excellent and helpful. Coffee and tea in the morning and wine at night were gratefully received. The library bar had a good atmosphere and for the first 4 nights was enjoyable. For some bizarre reason the barman (mike), ruined the ambience by playing loud dance music one evening. Several customers complained but he ignored us. We recommend the hotel even with the anti social 'Mike'.

Helpful?
Thank RML0703
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just spent four very enjoyable nights at this hotel. The room was lovely as was the overall decor of the hotel. The bar was cozy and the barman hospitable. Front desk staff was knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. The room was amazingly clean. It was altogether a wonderful experience for my first trip to San Francisco. I hope to go back and I will definitely stay at the Rex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masion50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very good hotel, only a block from Union Square. The room I stayed in (706) on the 7th floor was extremely comfortable and quite. The bar area was pleasant and the staff helpful and courteous.

I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloMark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was booked at the Hotel Rex by a client for the huge Oracle Open World conference. When I got the booking email, I was like "what the?". So I popped open trip advisor and saw that it was highly rated, and felt much better. The Hotel Rex is a really nice place. I've been staying here for the past 10 days. The rooms are small, but everything else about the hotel is just excellent. The hotel has an old world library feel. The look and feel of the hotel, and the decor are fresh and high quality. It appears as if this hotel were recently renovated, as the paint and wood surfaces are fresh looking. The hotel has a somewhat classy and upscale feel, but in a boutique way. I found it very refreshing, as I travel frequently, and usually stay in mostly higher end corporate chain hotels.

The room was very comfortable to sleep and work. There is a desk with a built in fridge, with some mini-bar items, but a large amount of space to put your own items. There is a big armoire and a decent sized dresser. The bed was nice and firm, and very comfortable.. The bathroom is not cramped and well appointed. There is a decent sized LED TV on the wall over the desk. The room is super clean and has a vintage feel. I loved it.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel. But I had no interest in using those, as the neighborhood has a ton of other thin gs to do. There are a large number of restaurants very near by. There is a 7-11 and a Walgreens right across the street And a short walk down the hill will take you to the Market Street area for lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Also, there is Cable Car stop about a block away as well, so jump on and head to Fisherman's Wharf for a night on the town.

The Hotel Rex was a great place to spend 10 days while working. The staff, the location, and the hotel itself were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a great team managing this little hotel! Everyone who served us was friendly and helpful.
It's a welcoming building, near to most of the main attractions and certainly within walking distance, if you like walking up and down the many steep hills.
The room was compact, very well appointed and extremely pleasant to return to after a hard day of sight seeing....especially as you are offered a lovely cold glass of wine between 5-6pm too!
If you are looking for vaue for money in this exciting city, this fits the bill really well and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a King Bedroom at Hotel Rex. The hotel is conveniently located with a lot of great shopping and dining opportunities in walking distance. The hotel offers a complimentary daily wine hour as well as coffee and tea in the morning. We spent part of our honeymoon there and the Vera attentive Hotel staff even arranged a surprise cake as well as champagne and cheese platter for us on our room. That was really great! Most of San Francisco sights are easily reached in walking distance. We rarely had to use a cab and only once needed a bus. We would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannheim681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,054 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
2,699 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
1,601 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing