We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent SF Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #54 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent SF Spot”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Centrally located in Union Square, Hotel Rex is a great find in San Francisco. In a city with notoriously busy and pricey hotels, booking directly with the hotel was an easy bargain. The staff was very friendly and the hotel's character is great if you enjoy classic design features and charm. The room was plenty big, bigger than other SF hotels I've stayed in. Scored a room away from the street and noise wasn't an issue. The room was super clean, cozy and a robe and slippers are always a nice treat. The toiletries were nice, bed was comfy, TV was big and I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A higher floor away from the street will make for dreamy sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    604
    166
    49
    19
See reviews for
194
708
119
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Rex everytime we go to San Fran. The staff is so friendly and we feel like family when we stay there. The location next to Unioin Square is perfect. The hotel is not glamorous but comfortable and reliable. The quality is good and the rooms are clean. We appreciate the robes and slippers. The highlight is Jeff at the front desk and Max!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Krenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

What would we do without Maximo. What a doll he is, part of the hotel itself. Hotel has perfect character for San Francisco. Makes you feel like your walking back in time a little, in a comfortable way. Rooms are cozy and amazingly clean. I stay in hotels a lot and these rooms always look deep cleaned. Great cleaning staff, cleaning manager and front desk. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear TravellingSQ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I very much enjoyed your comments and I will make sure to inform Maximo as well as our hard working housekeeping staff about your nice words!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at the Hotel Rex very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
415 217 4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were lucky to stay for 6 nights. Hotel staff were really friendly and the hotel facilities were exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is a great location for exploring SF during the day and access to pubs etc at night. A free glass of wine at the hotel bar started the night of nicely...we would highly recommend and hope be back again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Tripadvisor! As a small boutique hotels every review really helps us.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately I only stayed for only one night. My bed was a dream! I was only in SF for one night, but I will definitely stay again when in SF. The staff were so gracious. I checked in early, left my car and luggage, and went to family business. I returned late, but was greeted warmly and invited for a complimentary glass of wine in the cozy bar. After my trying day, I asked for a perfect manhattan, and that is exactly what I got. I loved my soft and cozy slippers and robe. Met interesting and friendly guests at coffee the next morning at coffee. Perfect location too!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaybirdSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jaybird SF,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadivsor. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire staff.

I hope to welcome you back to San Francisco and the Hotel Rex in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
415 217 4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights up to New Year 2012/13.

Liked the classic American hotel bar downstairs - right down the (genuinely) friendly mild alcoholics that prop up the bar. Food seemed like it would be okay, though never ate there. Room, TV and shower room all good - more the feel of a good B&B than a chain hotel, which is what I fancied. We had a bad night's sleep on New Year's eve because of people messing about in the hallway, and the hotel worked with Expedia to process a full refund for that evening, which was a good solution to that annoying problem. It's an old building, and if you want to stay in an identikit hotel, there are plenty of other chains where you can do that in SF. It won't blow you away, but it's a decent price, very central, clean, has a bit of charm to it and overall we liked it and would recommend (though do try to cross your fingers and avoid a hallway of Californian brats spending daddy's money as loudly as they can through the night!)

Room Tip: Noise doesn't seem to travel room to room, but it does travel from the hall to the rooms, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalkeith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Rex is, yes, old – but nicely renovated and decorated with flair. The staff is among the best I’ve encountered anywhere. Friendly, smiling and extremely competent. When I checked in, I said I’d joined the Joie de Vivre club online the previous night, not that I expected anything for it – and the man at the desk immediately upgraded me to an executive king. I was on the 4th floor, facing Sutter – but the noise didn’t bother me at all…except one morning when I was up at 4 am and heard the garbage collection. But it’s a city – so that’s OK. The room had a large number of electric outlets, conveniently placed, free wifi, nice TV. And the king bed was comfortable. Small but very clean and well equipped bathroom. Non-slip tub bottom; built in hair dryer. The next morning I was waiting for companions to join me so we could share a cab to Emeryville – and the desk man offered to call a trustworthy car service. Also used that for my return to the airport when leaving. The Library Bar was pleasant and there’s free wine (not bad) at 5 pm (and free coffee or tea in the morning). I was attending a small meeting at the hotel, and the meeting room and chairs were very comfortable [which is not always the case], and the A/V guys were very good in setting us up. The location is excellent and the rates reasonable. While it’s not a 5-star on a universal scale, it deserves a high TripAdvisor rating for what it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#25 of 228 in San Francisco
1,669 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing