We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great End to an amazing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had just spent 2 and 1/2 weeks travelling to Singapore, Australia and then onto San Francisco before on our way back to London. I have to say the hotel was a great choice. All of the staff and welcoming and so helpful going the extra mile to ensure you have everything you need. When we asked for a particular food type not only did they provide us with a couple of alternative restaurants they also booked the table and called the restaurant to advise we were running late!!, due to the amount of time we spent relaxing in the library bar. At the end of a long day sightseeing and cycling over the golden gate bridge this is a must play to stay.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Lorraine W.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As General Manager of the Hotel Rex I'm very pleased with your comments. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire staff.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Rex very soon indeed!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

My flight was delayed and I arrived late into San Francisco.

As the reservation had been made by our corporate travel agent I asked to add my "Joy of Life" club number. The somewhat unfriendly front desk agent informed me I couldn't do this as only online reservations were eligible.

I took the elevator to to 4th floor to find I had been assigned a room facing Bush street on the 4th floor. The main issue was it was opposite the stairs and elevator, which meant lots of noise. I returned to the front desk but was informed they could not change rooms as they were sold out. Needless to say I didn't get the best nights sleep.

I travel to San Francisco several times a year but will not be staying at the Rex or any other Joie de Vivre properties.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Nick,

Thank you for taking the time and post a review about your stay at the Hotel Rex on Tripadvisor. I'm truly sorry that we were not able to find a room to your liking. I can assure you that it is our highest priority to train our staff so that can provide excellent service - something we obviously failed to do during your stay.

We genuinely value the feedback our guests provide – both when we get it right and when we fail to do so – as it is extremely helpful for us to discover areas in which we need to improve our service and operations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further.

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
Hotel Rex
lmaurer@jdhvotels.com
415 217 4023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a walking vacation in San Francisco. It is close to the BART and mid-way between the Mason and Powell Street cablecar lines. The hotel is clean and relatively comfortable, but be sure to get a room in the back. We were in the front and the noise made earplugs a necessity. This hotel had a small bar/restaurant and served a complementary drink during their happy hour.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. The floor heaters take some getting used to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I chose the Hotel Rex in San Francisco to end our Christmas vacation having never stayed there. What a great choice! How very accommodating. We were able to check in early, book an extra room for comfort and leave our car, it was just perfect. The location is excellent, the staff are great, the rooms are comfortable and they offer a complimentary glass of wine to end your day. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrimars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I keep returning to the Rex Hotel partly because of nostalgia and mostly because of ease and comfort. The hotel is easily accessible by Bart from the airport. Its location in Union Square is great for shopping, eating, walking, etc. including a visit to San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Hotel staff is always pleasant and helpful. Many have worked at the Rex for years. The hotel also offers a wine tasting nightly. Now the nostalgia: the hotel has sentimental features including one of the smallest elevators I can recall. (Best to walk down the stairs if possible.) Rooms are comfortable, with some rooms on the small side. Bathrooms are modern, but the room’s old windows overlook older buildings roof tops. Lobby/bar a nice place to relax and meet fellow visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the elevator. Mason street side of the hotel a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

First time at Hotel Rex and it was a delightful surprise. Even at a bargain rate we got a very nice sized room and surprisingly large bathroom for a boutique hotel. Only issue was that the air conditioner didn't work but luckily the window opened onto a very protected area so we didn't hesitate in opening it and leaving open until bedtime. Great staff, dog friendly hotel, humorous and accommodating bar tender, nice nightly wine reception, good breakfast buffet. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms - 304 - 307 or equivalent per floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maselvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Basically adajents to Union Square. Rooms are very nice but also fairly small (but then we did get the lowest priced room). Front desk very professional and the lobby and bar area is a very nice place to hang out and meet new friends. Other than us, no other riff-raff.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LodiWineBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,353 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex San Francisco

Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $158 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splitty, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rex San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing