We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Retro Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #42 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Retro Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Rex for a weekend away. The hotel is located so that everything you need is just a walk away. Great shopping at Union Square and good places to eat. Market street is only a few blocks away. You can also catch a cab or the trolley if you want. The room was very neat and clean but pretty small. The tiny elevator gets you to your floor very quickly. The hotel bar has a complimentary glass of wine for all its guests at 5 pm and brings all the guests together to mingle. The entire staff was very friendly from the minute we checked in to the bartender and everyone in between. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaB832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    542
    132
    43
    13
See reviews for
168
625
106
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is a nice ambience to this older style hotel, well located in lower Nob Hill, close to the Powell street cable tram.
Staff were helpful, requested a quiet room which was granted (614). Breakfast was good, coffee downstairs terrible though, as was the complimentary red wine at "happy hour".

Room Tip: 614 at rear of hotel is quiet & has a window that opens for those not keen on a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Having read several of the other 5 star reviews I can't think of any way to top them. I agree wholeheartedly that this is an excellent hotel, with great ambience and retro feel throughout (not new made to look old, but genuinely old, kept in great condition). The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We stayed in a Deluxe King room which was spacious and quiet (we were at the back of the hotel and all we could hear was the occasional ringing of the cable car bells), with a dark warmth to it, immaculately clean and well attended to each day by the chambermaids. There was definitely no standard, off-the-shelf hotel decor and it felt friendly, like a room in a house rather than a hotel. It had proper, old fashioned, opening windows! And very effective blackout curtains.
We didn't have a chance to try the food - after exploring the city all day and having a big lunch, we were too tired and not hungry! We did enjoy the complimentary glass of wine in the wonderfully comfortable, relaxed bar though.
The location was perfect for us as tourists. It seems like quite an arty area, busy, well lit and safe-feeling at night. A block away from Union Square with its nice cafe and tour bus stops, and a huge variety of high quality department stores and boutique shops. The cable car runs at the end of the block and goes to Fisherman's Wharf, though we found it a fairly easy and interesting walk.
We also found it very convenient that there was a Seven-11 store and a Walgreens almost opposite the hotel.
Though a hotel like this isn't the cheapest accommodation option in San Francisco, it was worth every penny - you definitely get what you pay for ... and more!
If we ever visit SF again, I would feel disappointed if we couldn't stay at the Hotel Rex!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosendaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a great find! Hotel has a very friendly feel to it, so welcome after staying at some of the larger name hotels. The front desk staff were so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, just minutes from Union Square and loved the quirky decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAussiesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

because it would be a travesty if we had missed it. Location - great, rooms pleasant, reception staff, chambermaid, bar staff great. Food excellent. Complimentary wine - quallity. Jazz evening Friday sublime. This hotel is quirky and a finer start to our holiday in California would be difficult to find. . . I wasn't travelling solo but if I was this is the hotel to go for. This hotel makes you feel so comfortable - as you step through the door you have an overall feeling of wellbeing. A big thumbs up to the chef and barman....food and the 'chillout factor' in the bar is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everyone is very very friendly and helpful! Love the complimentary wine hour from 5-6 for hotel guest. Great way to meet others staying there! Monday night is movie night at the Library bar. Tuesday is vinyl night. Tony (bartender) has quite a collection!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First time in California and we started our journey in San Francisco's Rex Hotel - it has a very intimate feel to it. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to get whatever information we required. As locations go this is brilliant, just a half block away from Union Square, Cable Cars, and a few blocks from China Town. The hotel has a European feel to the decor, dark but welcoming. This is an older hotel with charm and just a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We had an inside facing room, so no road noice, in fact never heard a thing at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagship1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#19 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing