We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We absolutely loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #53 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We absolutely loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Having read several of the other 5 star reviews I can't think of any way to top them. I agree wholeheartedly that this is an excellent hotel, with great ambience and retro feel throughout (not new made to look old, but genuinely old, kept in great condition). The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We stayed in a Deluxe King room which was spacious and quiet (we were at the back of the hotel and all we could hear was the occasional ringing of the cable car bells), with a dark warmth to it, immaculately clean and well attended to each day by the chambermaids. There was definitely no standard, off-the-shelf hotel decor and it felt friendly, like a room in a house rather than a hotel. It had proper, old fashioned, opening windows! And very effective blackout curtains.
We didn't have a chance to try the food - after exploring the city all day and having a big lunch, we were too tired and not hungry! We did enjoy the complimentary glass of wine in the wonderfully comfortable, relaxed bar though.
The location was perfect for us as tourists. It seems like quite an arty area, busy, well lit and safe-feeling at night. A block away from Union Square with its nice cafe and tour bus stops, and a huge variety of high quality department stores and boutique shops. The cable car runs at the end of the block and goes to Fisherman's Wharf, though we found it a fairly easy and interesting walk.
We also found it very convenient that there was a Seven-11 store and a Walgreens almost opposite the hotel.
Though a hotel like this isn't the cheapest accommodation option in San Francisco, it was worth every penny - you definitely get what you pay for ... and more!
If we ever visit SF again, I would feel disappointed if we couldn't stay at the Hotel Rex!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosendaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    563
    136
    47
    14
See reviews for
169
647
111
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a great find! Hotel has a very friendly feel to it, so welcome after staying at some of the larger name hotels. The front desk staff were so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, just minutes from Union Square and loved the quirky decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAussiesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

because it would be a travesty if we had missed it. Location - great, rooms pleasant, reception staff, chambermaid, bar staff great. Food excellent. Complimentary wine - quallity. Jazz evening Friday sublime. This hotel is quirky and a finer start to our holiday in California would be difficult to find. . . I wasn't travelling solo but if I was this is the hotel to go for. This hotel makes you feel so comfortable - as you step through the door you have an overall feeling of wellbeing. A big thumbs up to the chef and barman....food and the 'chillout factor' in the bar is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everyone is very very friendly and helpful! Love the complimentary wine hour from 5-6 for hotel guest. Great way to meet others staying there! Monday night is movie night at the Library bar. Tuesday is vinyl night. Tony (bartender) has quite a collection!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

First time in California and we started our journey in San Francisco's Rex Hotel - it has a very intimate feel to it. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to get whatever information we required. As locations go this is brilliant, just a half block away from Union Square, Cable Cars, and a few blocks from China Town. The hotel has a European feel to the decor, dark but welcoming. This is an older hotel with charm and just a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We had an inside facing room, so no road noice, in fact never heard a thing at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagship1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What I loved: The bar was a nice mix of locals and guests. The location - close to food, bars, public transport and taxis. Staff were always courteous and helpful.

Other pros: Bathroom amenities. Decor is fun.

Cons: Price - I found a deal for my stay but if I had paid full price I would have felt ripped-off. Definitely not worth the original asking price. The noise - such a great locations means lots of street noise. Room size - it's an old building and the rooms are small. The bathrooms are even smaller.

Would I feel comfortable staying here again? Absolutely but only if I found a pricing deal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

After spending 2 weeks at the Rex on a business trip to SF, I feel I can say with a fair degree of certainty that this is an excellent hotel. It's location within a short walk to Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District is a huge plus. Add to that an elegantly funky, but relaxing interior and fabulous staff, and the hotel exceeds expectations. My Executive King room was much larger than expected in SF and included a sofa bed. Its location at the back of the hotel and away from the elevator was quiet - perfect for having to get up early for work. The Library Bar's free glass of wine each night (up until closing) was welcome at the end of a hard day, as was its small but delicious menu of food. I especially recommend the flatbread pizza and garlic fries! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear TravelingCAGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Hotel Rex. As the General Manager of the Hotel Rex I'm very pleased with your positive feedback and will make sure to share it with the entire staff.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Rex very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
Hotel Rex
415 217 4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing