We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff really make you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #55 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff really make you feel welcome”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a dun place to stay in a central location this us it. Hotel Rex definitely brings the art deco character of the area into your stay and the wine is possibly the most delicious I have ever tasted. The lovely Max (pug dog) greets you every day in the reception and the rooms are cleaned daily.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janineyus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    590
    160
    47
    18
See reviews for
184
691
118
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. It's in a great location, just a handful of minutes from Union Square, the cable cars and Chinatown. The hotel has lots of character, being an older building and decorated accordingly. Everybody working on reception was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious, possibly smaller than some hotels simply because it's an old building. Slight disappointment on the beds - we thought they were queen size but were only doubles, but we managed!

This is a lovely characterful hotel in a fantastic location. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If there's an option to have a room at the back, take it. There's no "pretty" vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMichele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is just magical... My wife and I were commenting that the management has done a terrific job of instilling a consistent sense of pride in every employee, from maids to front desk to bartenders. Our room was the one-bedroom suite, and it was massive. Our family of four could live there indefinately! The front desk, specifically Jeff and Phil, bent over backwards to help us, and despite the classiness of the hotel there was zero snootiness about it. It's not a big-brand type experience, but if you like a unique, quaint, character-rich boutique, this is the one!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear South OC Family,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. As the General Manager I'm very pleased with your positive feedback and will make sure to share it with Jeff, Phil and the entire staff.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Rex very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
Hotel Rex
415 217 4023
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Me and my family stayed here earlier this month, we had heard about its great location, and were certainly happy to find out union square was just round the corner. The rooms if i must say, were a little small, but for a boutique hotel and family of four we did not mind.

All our requests were taken care of staright away as our shower had a slight leek but was working perfectly well by the time we had returned to the hotel, i had a great stay here :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first Hotel stop on our 18day Road Trip. Although very quirky we really enjoyed the atmosphere here. The Library bar was very nice place and we even enjoyed a LIVE Jazz singer before going out one night. We had a free glass of wine on arrival but we only had one of them. The Barman was very attentive and even reminded me I still had my other glass of wine to have the next day. Breakfast was 'nice' not brilliant but adequate. It was also exactly the same on the two mornings we ate there. Would have been nice to have some different selections. All in all I would recommend this Hotel. Very good location and very near to Union Square.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Rex on the first part of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel! The hotel is very well presented, clean and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
We had a room on the top floor which was a decent size and was clean and fresh. It was also quiet at night so we got a good night's sleep.
The lobby bar offers a free glass of wine every evening for guests which we gladly accepted each evening. If you want a bite to eat then the bar also offers a selection of meals which were delicious from the ones we tried.
The hotel is also in a great location; only one block from union square. Also if you want to take the cable car down to the warf then the stop is just down the street.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. If you're thinking of a trip to San Fran then definitely give this hotel a visit. You won't be disappointed!
Hope to be back soon to see Max the pug! Thanks for everything

Adam & Charlotte

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Rex many times for short getaways from Sacramento. On several occasions we've introduced friends and family to the hotel because it is consistently good. The staff is very helpful, the ambience is charming and their pet friendly approach is delightful. This stay they let a young band spontaneously play in the lounge .... One that is on the professional circuit and was just a great treat for guests. How many hotels woul do that? The Rex is our favorite and we can't recommend it highly enough. Our schnauzer ruby echoes these sentiments but in the ancient language of Dawg.

Room Tip: Join the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing