We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale modern / hipster hotel in the heart of the city, genuine and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #21 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Upscale modern / hipster hotel in the heart of the city, genuine and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very much ENJOYED the Zetta. It's a got an upscale modern / hipster vibe, but it's not over the top. From the bell hops, to the staff at the front desk, everyone we met was very genuine and friendly.

We went here for my wife's birthday. The hotel was super nice and the person who helped us check in made sure we had everything we needed for the evening. The room was up on the 8th floor, room was set up nicely, very quiet (didn't hear any street noise or neighbors).

Some of the coolest parts of the hotel are the lounge areas down on the lobby and next level up. We hung out on the mezzanine level that has a few different lounge areas and a shuffle board table. You can look down on the bar area from here and check out the modern art work strewn throughout the lobby.

We only had one night at the Zetta, so we will return soon to enjoy the AWESOME fitness center and the other amenities that looked great, but we just didn't have time to enjoy this go round.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Marc D,
I hope your wife had a great birthday weekend, from the sound of your review you must have had a lot of fun. One night is definitively not enough to fully enjoy all that we have to offer and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon so that you can fully enjoy The Cavalier restaurant and a little more of the Playroom.
Thank you,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    245
    86
    20
    14
See reviews for
158
261
21
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have watched the Hotel Zetta transform from the Hotel Milano and can't say enough about the hotel. The detail from the lobby to the remodeled guest rooms is just fantastic. It was super easy to use the high tech connection systems in my room, which completely enhanced our stay. The staff was super attentive, followed up by phone to us after we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed, and more. Our friends had a room as well and stated the same thing about their experience. The location is perfect with access to all kinds of great south of market locations. Well done Zetta! Chris Rossi

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisDiscoveryBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear ChrisDiscoveryBay,
Thank you for the great review, it is always good to hear that the team really made a difference. As you mentioned, our rooms and lobby are full of details that support and showcase our "re-use, recycle and re-purpose" mantra but what truly makes us unique is the commitment of our team.
Come back soon, we have more fun initiatives coming up.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zetta for the recent GDC conference and held several events at Hotel Zetta along with all of our meetings and it was a great experience and went very smoothly. Thank you to the great staff that made our team's experience awesome, esp. Caroline, Kate, Benny, Odiel (sp.), Patrick, and everyone else that made our stay great. I know I am missing some names, but the entire staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Best lobby water. The only aspect that could have been improved was the internet access. It kept logging users off and could have been much faster. Thanks again everybody!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty-IceHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Matty-IceHZ,
Thank you so much for the shout out to our very friendly and wonderful colleagues. I know that they will be thrilled to read their names in your great review.
We are working on the Wifi connectivity and have changed the settings so that users are not logged off so often. I appreciate the feedback and hopefully we will not have to wait until GDC next year to welcome you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I really LOVE the Hotel Zetta with their big clean rooms, fun and modern lobby, incredibly friendly front desk staff, helpful doormen, and amazing sales team. I slept well in the comfy bed with no noise. Hotel Zetta is located in a great area which is close to Market Street, Moscone Center, and a major shopping center. I totally enjoyed my first stay, second stay, and will be back again for many stays in 2014. My whole team from the office had a wonderful experience at Hotel Zetta. Did I mention that it's a brand new hotel in SF ? Hotel Zetta is seriously the best !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Rozolis,
I am thrilled that you loved us and by the way the entire team at Hotel Zetta San Francisco loves you too.
We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Zetta when my regular San Francisco hotel was full and it was great. The rooms are very big and the beds are comfy. The shower and products are very nice as well. The room is a little sterile, but not the end of the world. I had a late dinner in the bar, not restaurant and the sandwich was yummy. My only complaint was the breakfast was horrible. I had to send back eggs and they were out of black tea.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear livinginlondon1344,
Thank you for the great review of our rooms, bed and products. I am thrilled that you enjoyed S&R lounge and the yummy sandwich. We will make sure to work on our breakfast and we really want to become your new regular hotel in San Francisco.
Cheers and safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel opened a few months ago, so you can be sure your room will be clean. Love the big room, the hip lobby and the amazing staff. My room was in the back part of the building, so no view, we were located a few feet from another building. The area is very convenient it is close to everything. I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoraPatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear SenoraPatita,
We are still the newest hotel in San Francisco and with our fun and playful design and our amazing staff, we are quickly becoming the place to stay and have fun when in San Francisco. We are locate in the middle of the action whether you are here for business or pleasure.
We really enjoyed having you here with us and cannot wait to welcome you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Last minute decision to book this hotel while traveling along the coast. The check in process was entirely too long. There was only one woman staffed, however when she got to us we were checked in quickly. The complimentary wifi did not work upon entering our room. We called down and were told that it is because their system takes a while to catch up with who has checked in. They gave us a temporary password to use in the meantime. The bed was comfortable. The room size was average. We were facing the interior courtyard so directly across from other guest rooms. Must keep the blinds closed, lol. Bathroom was spacious and clean. The lobby has a bar and games to play on the 2nd floor. Game room was a lot of fun. Lobby bar was overpriced. We left and hit a bar down the street. Otherwise, great location and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Kashay,
I am delighted that you stopped on your trip down the coast and sincerely thank you for your comments and feedback. We are getting raving reviews about our beds and the size of our bathroom and it is good to see that it made a difference during your stay.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you will have a chance to try The Cavalier on you next trip to San Francisco.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,092 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
277 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,107 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Property: Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing