We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slick, but not ready for what they're charging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #22 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Slick, but not ready for what they're charging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel got plenty going for it. The lobby is gorgeous and the bar is a scene. The decor is ultra modern without being pretentious. Your first impression is definitely "wow! what a cool place."

That impression carries through to the room experience. The bed is plush and comfortable and the bathroom is pretty slick. They definitely pay attention to cleanliness. I loved the 42" flatscreen Samsung that was in my room. Great for watching the Science Channel!

Things started going down south when I ordered room service. My dinner was definitely not fresh. Stale is more like it. Of course the price tag attached to that reflected a much better quality of food, but reality was far from it.

Then I was really disappointed when I asked the front desk staff to send someone over to my room to make it up (I was in my room all day working.) Nothing happened on the first request. I had to put in 3 requests before anyone made it up to my room.

I guess what I leave you with is this: this is a great hotel. Is it ready for primetime given the price tag? Maybe. I won't go back soon. Maybe in a year or so.

Room Tip: The bar in the lobby is great! Have a drink there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ielshareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    239
    82
    20
    14
See reviews for
151
255
21
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Trendy furniture, quality linen, interesting decoration, larhe room and bathroom, good noise insulation, quite a list of elements having made our stay enjoyable.

A complimentary coffee in the room, and a quiter ventilation would have been plusses.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear longtravel09,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel.
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We do offer 2 daily complimentary Illy pod in the room that you can enjoy with the Illy espresso machine. I will review with my team to make sure that they are replenished on a daily basis.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A small quaint hotel located near Mission and Market Streets. Eye catching decor using recycled materials to make amazing things. The staff is young, vibrant, cheerful and the most helpful I have encountered in a long time. Smiles are on the faces of each group that you meet from the doormen, to the front desk to the bell captain and wait staff. As a week long guest, I got to experience a wide range of staff and services. Enjoyed meeting a group of friends in gameoom to watch LSU vs Alabama football game. Few hotels offer a multi-purpose room large enough to serve a variety of activities and several groups at one time. Hated to leave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Lynda B,
I hope that you have a great stay in San Francisco for a week, the hotel has a lot to offer and I am thrilled that you enjoyed the team and the playroom. You are right not many hotel offer a room like our playroom where it is easy and fun to meet a group of friend and have a good time. Come visit us back soon!
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I appreciated the tone and vibe that this place is trying to exude, but I'm sorry to admit that I was not impressed and can't rave about this place like other reviewers did.

It was fun, edgy, creative and sets itself apart with a game room and lounge area that most other hotels may not think of. I think it caters to a male audience which is a switch as spas and other amenities are usually frequented by women. The lounge is open 24-7 and contributes to a vibrant feel to the place when you walk in.

I was there for 5 nights and by the end I was ready to leave. My gripes, in no particular order:

- I sent out some shirts for steaming/pressing and they didn't return when they said they would be there, and I got them a full day later after I called and waited a long time for someone to track them down. It was very expensive and there was no consideration for the delay.
- The AC wasn't working in my room so their solution was to install a window unit. It did the job but it was loud. I called about it and there wasn't a lot they could really do about this, apparently.
- Breakfast in the Cavalier was chaotic at best. One morning I ordered toast with peanut butter and orange juice since I thought it would be the quickest choice (having learned from previous mornings not to order anything more extensive). It took them 15 minutes for someone to come and tell me that they don't have peanut butter. I could have made 5 rounds of toast by then and had only had my orange juice at that point. They had the good sense not to charge me for my COLD toast when it was brought to me in a to-go container as I had a schedule to keep. I was with a group for business who had pre-arranged the account so I couldn't very well go elsewhere as I definitely would have.
- I attempted to order room service/breakfast the morning before I checked out in an attempt to streamline my morning and let me pack uninterrupted. I was told on the phone the night before that they don't do in-room service. I called the next morning and 'surprise!' - they do. I don't know how they could confuse that but apparently someone didn't get the memo. For a ridiculous amount of money I got ONE CUP of cling-wrapped coffee, cold toast, and no butter/jam. Any other hotel knows that a carafe of coffee is the norm. I had to call and get butter and jam - but the fruit with mint and honey was good. Not worth what I paid when I only had a small cup of coffee. Stingy!
- My safe wasn't bolted to anything so anyone could have walked out with it. It was promptly fixed but I'm not sure how this was missed by previous guests or housekeeping.
- My room faced the back and garbage collection seemed to come on time between 5:30-6:30am on 3/5 mornings. Not great when there are several loads/trucks and the backup beepers were also in full swing for 10-15 minutes. By then, there is no way to get back to sleep so you might as well just wake up.
- My final bill was not accurate and they make it impossible to interpret any charges from the Cavalier restaurant. Like I said - that place was a gong show and I would steer clear. Unfortunate, since the staff seem like they work hard and it's a really nice place to sit and have a meal or a drink.

The good stuff (I'm not completely unreasonable/high maintenance!):
- Everything was very clean and comfortable
- The room was spacious and the workspace was very conducive to getting work done.
- Great location within the City and the main transportation hub at Powell/Market
- Concierge and Front Desk Staff were terrific to deal with
- Lounge and Bar/Lobby area were very busy and nice to spend time in and have a drink or 5
- This might be a minor thing but the elevators were quick to arrive

I think that they are trying to sell a bill of goods - being a new, trendy, upmarket hotel geared to tech-savvy people who want something unique and conducive to work and play - but they don't quite deliver. I just think they have a lot of kinks to work out before they can call themselves 'one of the best'. It's a combination of a lot of 'little things' that really turned me off and had me yearning for my own room and bed. Sad, but true. The Cavalier is a big part of the problem, I think. For the price - I would consider one of the other places in Union Square.

Room Tip: Don't face the back - garbage collection will ruin your mornings. And steer clear of the gong s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singleselfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear gettinoutthere,
Thank you for the thoughtful and detailed review. We truly value it and learn from all of them. I can assure you that the entire team is passionately committed to provide a fabulous experience at Hotel Zetta and that your comments are taken very seriously and acted upon. I am delighted that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable environment, the location and the friendliness of the team.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly at benjamin.duverge@viceroyhotelgroup.com next time your travels bring you back to San Francisco and I will personally make sure that your stay exceeds your expectations.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My family and I were staying in Los Angeles for a week and decided it would be a good idea to fly to San Francisco and stay there for one night. We wanted a cheap hotel, as it was only for one night. We found Hotel Zetta and decided it would be a reasonable place to stay. When we arrived, it was a quick and easy process of checking in and we immediately got our room key. The room was a pleasant, modern and moreover clean area. It was very different to any other hotel I have stayed in before in terms of the modern side of it. The hotel was in a very central place of the area, as the shopping centre Westfield was located a 2 minute walk away, where you can find lots of shops and a large food court. You could also get a tram down to another area of town where there is lots of restaurants and shops- which is good for night time. The hotel staff told us about things to do at night and what places to go to. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful towards our needs and overall, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zetta and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in San Francisco for 6-days for vacation. Found this hotel by purchasing my stay through Hotwire.com. I would have never discovered this little gem of a hotel had I not used Hotwire.
Located just one block away from Market St, Hotel Zetta is an gorgeous, trendy hotel with a strong boutique vibe. The staff is always professional, friendly, and courteous - always greeting you by your name. The hotel beautifully boasts high levels of contempory art and design throughout and never feels anything less than luxurious. The lobby bar/lounge area always seems to be a happening gathering place. Considering the amount of money you would typically pay to stay here, the king bed rooms may be smaller than you might expect, but they are certainly big enough. After all, you aren't in San Fran to stay in your hotel room! The lobby also boasts a very cool game room with all type of activities and areas to hang out with your friends. You really have to see the space to appreciate it - It's definitely a one-of-a-kind amenity. Speaking of which, the hotel amenities are always technology centred with plenty of available outlets in the rooms for charging your devices. Each room also comes with a high-end LED Samsung Smart TV, which can be setup to stream contect wirelessly from your gadget of choice. Oh, and did I mention the complimentary WiFi that is available in the lobby AND in your room? The hotel has a popular restaurant called: The Cavelier, which may require a wait depending in the day and time you arrive. The restaurant is great for enjoying early morning coffee or meeting friends for dinner. Location of the hotel is just a block south of Market St. off of Fifth, which puts the hotel right near the Powell St. BART/Munie station and one of the historic cable car turn-arounds. I cannot say enough about this place. I was very pleased with my entire experience. The location alone
makes Hotel Zetta an incredible value. Give this place a chance and you will not be disappointed. Very nicely done, Viceroy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byt3_h34d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Zetta in San Francisco for a long weekend getaway. Upon arriving, the hotel lobby was modern and the use of amazing local artwork was really neat. The second floor had a large adult style game room with throw back video games, TVs and a uniquely appointed conference room. Hotel staff was accommadating and friendly. Rooms were super comfortable and clean. Location was convenient for grabbing a trolly car, taxi or walking to local destinations. Had a fabulous time and highly recommend this hotel, you will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Dave F,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in and out of the hotel. You really seem to have enjoyed and used all that the hotel has to offer, specifically our very cool playroom on the second floor.
Please come back soon for more fun!
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Property: Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing