We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband stayed here for 3 nights for a business trip. He got the Junior Suite and the size was perfect considering SF. The furniture were more like Ikea furniture but very tasteful and simple. The bathroom was also very clean and nice. He told me that he would definitely stay there again considering the reasonable price, design of the rooms and the staff. You can get a suite there with the same price as getting a small room in other Hotels. Its walking distance to all shops and restaurants at Union Square yet far enough from the noise.

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stars1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    686
    315
    134
    112
See reviews for
230
678
145
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is brilliant ... it is small, the rooms are decorated well but the space is limited ... that said all the necessary amenities are there, the bed is comfortable and it provides the perfect base to explore San Francisco (which is made easier by the fact that the staff are really really friendly and helpful).

I would advise anybody who wants a lot of space in their room to perhaps spend more money and stay somewhere else, but for anybody who is happy to stay in somewhere clean and convenient with friendly staff then this little hotel is perfect for you. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWaters575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Myself, my partner and her father, stayed in a King Suite in March. The room itself was lovely- spacious, modern, funky looking room. The main bed was huge, and comfortable. There was also a pull down bed, which we used, which was again a decent size, and comfy. We also had a large table and chairs in the room- its surprising how nice it is to have somewhere to sit other than a bed whilst staying in a hotel,

The location was perfect- very close to the Bart, and cablecars and Union square. A couple of nice diners very nearby for breakfast too. Would highly recommend, based on our stay. There was also 2 hours of free saki (5-7pm) everyday- we only tried this once, on our way out, but its still a nice touch to have.

The only real downside, was that there was a lot of street noise, and it appeared to be an old hotel done out, but the windows were still the old orignal ones- so didnt keep much of the noise out at all- I would suggest taking earplugs! we were woken around 6am most mornings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jave25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We checked in late in the evening on a business trip. The room we booked (that was already way overpriced) was somehow unavailable according to the front desk lady, and she even went as far as saying we 'booked it wrong'. After a long debate she somehow managed to find us a room with the type that we booked, and gave us a "complementary upgrade" to that type (the type we had booked and paid for in the first place). During this whole time she was very rude, and fake-friendly (she kept saying sorry, but her face/eyes were displaying hate if anything).

The hotel is in a nice location, and the room was very spacious, well maintained and equipped (only minus here was a lack of power outlets around the bed, one can either charge his phone in the bathroom, or around the front door). However, the service did ensure that in the end, we did not have a good experience.

Room Tip: Don't book a room with a sofa bed, it seems they don't really clean the sofa beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Jason L,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. Although our staff gets favorable reviews, I'm so sorry to hear your experience wasn't the same. Please accept my apology on behalf of the front desk agent who checked you in. Please be assured we will address the issue you mentioned internally.

I hope you will give Hotel Diva another chance and that you will give us the opportunity to change your impression on us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Diva.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I like contemporary and this fits. The roomsize (not sure what they called it, but this a hair over 300 bucks a night) in a studio configuation. The size was nice, almost generous, but the layout of the room was awkward.

Bathroom was teeny-tiny. - toilet and tub/shower but the sink was in a vestibule in the main room.

Room could have used a freshen up. I noticed on the bathroom door - the masking was sloppy as to be non existent. I don't think they used tape. So it has that 3rd world bargain paint job look.

No room service.

The TV was not set to the right format - so everything was stretched and squished-looking. And there were no controls to change it. Why this is common in hotels is beyond me. Does nobody notice?

The service at the front desk was exceptionally friendly. Good work there!

I guess you can get anything great for $300/night anymore, but my quest continues!

Room Tip: I'll continue to search for my favorite hotel in S.F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribbonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Ribbonaire,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We most certainly value your opinion. Just to keep you updated on what we have been doing recently to improve our service, we have started cable retrofitting our TVs for a better reception and clearer picture. I'm sure you will notice the difference when you stay with us next.

Hotel Diva has a restaurant/mexican bistro on site, Colibri provides lunch and dinner room service to out guests. You can find their menu in our guest book located on your desk.

I hope you will think of us again on your next visit to San Francisco. We would love to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked this last minute after we decided to stay the night in SF following a birthday dinner. Pleasantly surprised by this little-known hotel tucked away at the corner of Geary and Taylor. The room was very nice, with lots of character and trendy furnishings, and a very nice view of the street and surrounding area. Front desk staff were helpful in all aspects.

It is right opposite the Clift, and in our opinion a much better option (and cheaper to boot!).

Definitely a big thumbs up and ideal for a stay in downtown SF.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatri1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

it is a very cool place with a lot of funky little touches like the elevator. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating and able to give great directions. The room was actual a decent size considering this is in the heart of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Room that we had was super noisy from all the garbage being thown out from the restaurant next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing