We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hotel Diva is in a very good location, close to Union Square, Westfield, Cable Car stops, F bus line, Starbucks just downstairs, great little ramen restaurant (Katana-ya) just a few doors down and there's a Walgreens just nearby.

Our room was on a smallish side (city so to be expected), however we did manage to have 2 full sized suitcases open was a bit of a tight squeeze but doable. Bathroom was a good size and clean. Housekeeping was very good at keeping the room clean and would always do our room earlier in the day. There's also a mini fridge in the room, which came in very handy for keeping snacks etc. It can get very loud so have your fingers crossed and ask for a room at the back of the hotel. No great view from there but at least it's quiet.

Wifi is very quick and we didn't have any issues with it, there's also a business centre available with a printer. The lobby is very small but there's multiple lounges available.

Was an excellent stay but unfortunately marred by someone in reception's response to us informing them a dog was left alone in a hotel room. The poor dog had been left alone for several hours and was scratching the door, barking and whining (we have no problem with people bringing their pets btw). We informed reception and they had a gentleman come up, of course Murphy's law the dog stopped barking etc. Reception later called us saying they had left messages to the dog owner and also said that the gentleman had not heard anything with a tone implying that we had been lying. We understand that a hotel can not just open someone's room but we thought it was important that a dog not be left alone for so many hours. We had no problems with reception and concierge besides this, they were otherwise always friendly and helpful towards us.

Otherwise it was an excellent stay. If you are after a reasonable price, good location and clean hotel then look in to booking this one.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    686
    315
    134
    112
See reviews for
230
678
145
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on NYE and the best part was finding this hotel. SF hotels can be very expensive, this property was amazing the service, decor, amenities and best of all location was over the top. After I made my reservation I used the web talk concierge on their brands site (they have a whole collection in SF) and the online person helped me upgrade my reservation with a celebration package for just $30. We will be back and will definitely stay at one of their hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Mcmorrison,

Thank you for making Hotel Diva a part of your New Year's Eve celebration. I hope you and your husband had a wonderful time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here while in town for Dreamforce 2013. The location as great and couldn't be beat, it was close to Union Square and the street cars going to the Wharf. Sometimes there were a pan handlers outside the front door, but I noticed that was going on at most of the hotels so I am not sure that could be avoided by going elsewhere. The rooms were decent. Small, but everything you needed in a room. Unfortunately, I did not discover the fridge was in the desk until the day I was checking out. The fitness rooms is crowded if there are more than two people in it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZHarrisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear AZHarris,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Although San Francisco has its share of panhandlers, I hope this will not deter you from returning to our beautiful city.

We look forward to welcoming back at Hotel Diva.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel Diva was a memorable hotel. We had three people staying together and ended up with one bed in a separated small room with the other bed being a Murphy wall bed. The bathroom and shower were okay, and it was nice to have two sinks in two separate places in the hotel room. Space was tight but this is a hotel room in a big city- it's the norm/to be expected. The themed lounges were a nice touch, and we had a great room location- right across from the elevator!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide varied views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hotel Diva is our go to San Francisco Hotel. Ultra modern decor and just enough San Fran uniqueness to make it fun. The location, just a block from Union Square made Christmas shopping really convenient (Santacom, with thousands of Santas converging on Union Square, did not but added a bit of fun too, okay a lot of fun).

Our room, an Executive King, faced Geary Street and was a bit noisy. If you have to have a really quiet room you probably want to ask for an interior room. Also consider springing for the "Executive" size room, the standard rooms can be pretty tight, especially if you're planning on spending much time there.

Staff is always outstanding, everything is nice and clean, there's a Starbucks connected as well an outstanding Mexican restaurant, Colibri.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azdaniel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Azdaniel2013,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming new year.

Happy New Year from all of us at Hotel Diva!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Diva. It is conveniently located to Union Square, only 1 1/2 blocks walk. We had tickets for a performance at Biscuits and Blues one evening, 1/2 block walk, just around the corner, and we didn't even have to cross a street! The staff was welcoming, professional, and eager to answer any questions we might have had. The rooms are large, clean, and well furnished. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Traveler Barb,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Diva on your recent trip to San Francisco. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Diva.

Happy New Year!

Best reegards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived and felt like we were in Hollywood. On the sidewalk in front were move star's foot prints. We were greeting at the door and all our concerns were comforted. tThe best customer service ever. The rooms were, simple, yet modern and creatively decorated and configured with everything you could ever want at your fingertips. We walked everywhere we want to go. We will visit again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Linda D,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Diva on recent to San Francisco. I hope you enjoyed the complimentary amenities we offer: WiFi, fitness center, tea lounge, Ghirardelli hot chocolate service in the lobby and our sake hour.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing