We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, girlish and very divalike!”
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, girlish and very divalike!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Diva are a great place to stay for friends traveling together. We (4 girls) loved the comfortable beds, the gym and the location. We actually changed our rooms from junior suite to standard double rooms because we felt that the junior suites was a bit dark with a strange pullout-bed in one of the rooms. Its a bit expensive, but location is great. We loved the hotel - not shore my boyfriend would. Everything is very Diva from the interior to the artworks in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristineNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear KristineNS,

Thank you for making Hotel Diva a part of your all girls getaway. I hope you and your girlfriends had a wonderful time with us and had the opportunity to see the beautiful city of San Francisco. You and your friends might appreciate our rooms facing Geary St. These rooms get an abundant amount of light. You will also have a view of Curran and ACT theaters all lit at night.

Hurry back to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you and your friends soon.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    695
    325
    137
    113
See reviews for
235
692
148
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a small boutique style hotel. It has a great location for tourist. It is right in the heart of all the action. The rooms are small, but by San Fran standards are very nice. I have stayed at three other hotels in San Fran, and this by far is my favorite. The rooms are the nicest, the staff is great, and it is ultimately pretty quiet. Overall it is worth the price if location is key to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location, nice staff, modern decoration, and free sake! What else do you need? I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it. The hotel really goes out of their way to create a good experience for guests. Excellent for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked a room here for a a few days and enjoyed my stay. The room had nice decor and lighting, and a clean/comfortable bed. The bathroom setup was a bit interesting, as the toilet and shower were in their own room and the sink was part of the main room. One would have to wonder how many germs are on the inside of the bathroom door handle since the sink is outside. Everything was clean nonetheless.

The staff is friendly and the location is good but expect to have to pay for parking if you're driving, which will cost you around $45. Overall, Hotel Diva is a nice boutique hotel that I'd have no problem returning to next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Located near union square, its central and not far from Chinatown either. Theres lots of shopping around and Westfield Mall is a 10 minute walk away. Public transport is quite easy to find and travel on, lots of stops around. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and fairly spacious. Staff were always willing and highly helpful with all our questions. Their customer service was some of the best I have experienced.I would definately recommend this hotel to my family and friends and would love to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear TanM84,

On behalf of my staff, thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked into the hotel for 4 days. On the first night we asked to move rooms because we were in the back of the hotel in an ally way that dropped off empty bottles. Honestly horrendous noise. We then moved to another room, which they called an upgrade... Yes the room was bigger but was nothing special. This faced onto Geary St which was also very noisy but makes sense being a main road. The staff in the hotel were just rude. Totally unhelpful and managed to lock out passports in a safety deposit box that then took them 25 mins to open. Location was the best part of the hotel, but that's really the only good thing and all you are paying for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ep200316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Emorubes,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm so sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as you would have expected. Athough my staff gets great reviews from our guests, please accept my apology on their behalf if you were treated differently. Hotel Diva has a number of quiet interior rooms located through out the building as well as larger upgraded rooms.

I really hope you will give Hotel Diva another chance and give us the opportunity to change your impression on us. We look forward to wecloming you back at Hotel Diva.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is god value for its location, very close to Union square , transport to get around and good restaurants. It is aiming to be a sort of 'design' type hotel and it works to a certain extent. It does however not quite pull off the dark, grey and cool vibe and veers a little into the very slightly dingy and needs a bit of wow factor.
We were travelling with our 3 teenagers and they had a large room with a pull down bed from the wall and we also had a large room with king bed and sitting area. Both rooms were very large for city rooms with additional wardrobe cupboards and dressing areas, but the bathrooms were really tiny. Literally just enough rom for one adult to stand in the space between the sink, toilet and bath/shower.
Staff were nice and we had great breakfast recommendations from the concierge and a fab Chinese he recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room facing geary st and didn't have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holsandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing