We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the younger crowd.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For the younger crowd.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The location was good and though noisy you would expect that in the centre of a city. The double bed seemed small but was comfortable but overall the room was too confined, the bathroom tiny and there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom which greeted us every time we opened its door. The staff were friendly & helpful. There was an I Pod dock which was handy. The grey walls & floor and lack of pictures made the room dark & slightly depressing, the decor was modern but too plain for my taste. An ideal hotel for a short stay or for singles or younger people, (we're in our early 40's).

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room away from the street and two beds so you get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam499476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Guest Services Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sam499476,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review.
We are sorry you did not completely enjoy your stay at the hotel and that your room did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for letting us know about the smell in your bathroom, rest assure that this issuewill be taken care of.
Here at the Diva we have a lot of different room types to pick from, if you are looking for a large room the Executive King or the King Jr Suite would be good choices.

We look forward to having you back.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    686
    315
    134
    112
See reviews for
230
678
145
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our 2 week stay in San Fran. We wanted it to be a special night in a boutique hotel. The hotel is lovely with funky décor and unusual lighting but apart from this it is not outstanding in any way. It is a good, clean, well located convenient hotel and if that is what you want then this place is for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spungeyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've stayed at the Hotel Diva about 15 times in the past decade, and each time I've been pleased with the quality of the room, location of the hotel and attentiveness of the staff. The room is always immaculate, the front desk friendly, the concierge helpful and the housekeeping staff very thorough. I've tried other hotels near Union Square, including some "five star" properties, but from now on I'm sticking with the Diva. There's no better value! I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo64bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The diva is a stylish hotel with chic rooms. The staff were very helpful booking us in to an excellent vegan restaurant up the road and wanting to help us with arranging tours etc. The location is central downtown and there are a lot of homeless people around but not especially threatening. We have heard that fishermans wharf although more touristy may feel a little safer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canyonjunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I chose this hotel mainly for location and that it is a non-chain. Like a lot of SF hotels in old buildings, they made the best given the existing conditions. It must have been recently redone and it was clean and the bed was nice.

On the negative side, the elevators were out of order, there was no lobby bar (I always like to have a bar as it brings a level of energy and community to the property), the rooms and particularly the sink area was kind of dark making shaving difficult.

Price made this a good value in SF and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTCFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear JTCFIA,

I'm glad we met your expectations on your recent stay with us and that you would return to Hotel Diva on your next trip to San Francisco. We do appreciate your business.

The mexican bistro, Colibri located on the lobby level does have a full bar. They also do serve lunch, dinner, and brunch on weekends. The restaurant also provide our in in-room dining. Please make sure you stop by the next time you're in town.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I arrived by taxi and were greeted by the owner, Yvonne, who was so pleasant and friendly. I hinted at an upgrade and she was more than accommodating, we walked into a king suite room (from a double) and a bottle of quality champagne as we walked into our room! The room was amazing and above my expectation, very very clean and modern/trendy. After a dissappointing trip in N.Y we are so happy to be here at hotel Diva, thanks Yvonne for your warm welcome. Sincerely Grant & Laura McMaster :) 5 star boutique

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had the King Junior suite for 3 people. This included one King bed and one queen bed that pulled down from the wall. This was a great set-up for us for the weekend. Plenty of room with the queen bed put away. Beds were very comfortable and the room was pretty quiet. The bathroom is VERY small for 3 to share, but fortunately the sink is in the room so that two can be getting ready at the same time. We were there for Labor Day weekend and never saw or heard any protesters down the street. Very easy to walk to catch a bus or BART. Or less than 5 minute walk to Union Square shopping and restaurants everywhere. Swanky bar at the Clift is across the street and a couple of blues and night clubs around the corner.
We had an issue at check-out where they charged us more than the reservation showed (happy I printed it out). The desk clerk took care of it right away. They also allowed us to keep our bags at the concierge while we ran around before our flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbjj109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear bbjj109,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Diva with Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had the chance to enjoy the many complimentary amenities we offer our guests: lobby sake hour from 5 to pm, complimentary Perrier through out the whole day , fitness center, WIFI, business center and our tea lounge on the seventh floor.

We hope to see you on your next visit to SF!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing