We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel - easy & fun!”
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #108 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great boutique hotel - easy & fun!”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My colleague and I ended up at this hotel when we were first placed at the Larkspur, which had no air conditioning and the rooms were clean but unfriendly and ridiculously small. When we arrived at the Diva, we were pleasantly surprised. As this was a business trip, we were close to the conference we were attending and the front desk was a huge help in getting us where we needed to go. The atmosphere and culture of the hotel was very modern and cool. I believe this is a part of a portfolio of personality hotels and I can't wait to try the others. Internet was fast & free and while the bathrooms were small, it was a great choice. I would recommend anyone to this hotel for a short stay in San Fran - close to tons of activity in Union Square.

Room Tip: Check their online booking discounts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtmasstraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    722
    339
    141
    117
See reviews for
243
724
152
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Diva is in an amazing location for Union Sq, transport via metro, bus and trolley. Hotel staff are very helpful. Rodney the concierge is great- he even let us use his phone to contact the airline when hurricane irene struck and our onward trip to New York needed cancelling and our flight rerouting. He was a sweetie. Gorgeous decor and toiletries too. Quirky blue lifts and blue jelly belly beans on the counter, see what you make of the roller blinds! We would go back

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChipandGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

- Excellent location
- Comfortable, supportive, king sized bed
- storage space for luggage
- free access to in-room safe
- reasonable bathroom amenities
- good sized writing desk for planning your day
- helpful staff (didn't call on their help much though)

- slightly noisy with ventilation ducting and noise from the corridors but acceptable still
- refurbishment work not a problem (carpet laying still when we arrived)
- near Union Square so some noise associated with proximity. Not too bad.
Not a large room that we stayed in but we merely slept here. It puzzles me as to why people expect a tennis court sized room....are they coming to sleep and visit the city or stay inside the whole trip???
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsteoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Hotel Diva was an interesting experience to say the least. It's a very small hotel and hard to see from the street. It's connected to a Starbucks. The room was clean, but tiny. The shower pressure in our room was odd, I had to mess with the knob for a good 5 min to figure it out. The quotes placed in our bathroom were borderline disturbing. The floors were creaky and you could hear EVERYTHING from the hallway. The lobby staff and concierge were very hospitable. They provided varying complimentary beverages in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfire2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Starfire2,

The Hotel Diva has 116 rooms ranging 270 to 500 sq ft: deluxe rooms, executive king stes, studio queen, studio king. Suite Atelier, Suite Within Reach, Suite ESC and Kid Suite. I would personally recommend our Executive King Ste over a deluxe room if you were looking for a spacious accommodation. The property also has a fitness center, business center, a meeting room and lounges. I'm sorry to hear you had a difficult time locating us. I am proud to say that we are probably the best looking building on the block: black and white, stacked glass/granite front and glass overhang on our facade.

The Diva's remodel is almost done. We are hoping to finish the project by September and I would most certainly would like to invite you back to the Hotel Diva for a completely new experience.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Diva and it was sufficient, but not fabulous by any means. The photos online are definitely better than the real deal. That being said, the location was top-notch in that it was near Union Square as well as transportation. Also, we stayed here as part of an inexpensive flight+hotel package I booked through Bookit.com and so the cost was fairly cheap. If a good location and good price are what you're looking for, then I'd recommend it. If you want something really nice and a big room, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the quieter part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Nanderson,

Like I have previously told our guests, the Hotel Diva has a a wide range of room types and sizes. The rate/price maybe slightly different if you're booking a larger room, but the price is all worth it if a spacious accommodation is what you're really looking for. I'm sorry you weren't given this option when you booked with bookit.com.

The Hotel Diva will woom complete it's remodelling and I'm absolutley sure our guests will love our new product. I am hoping you would think of us on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best regards,

Virgl Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Close to Union Square, Attractive rooms [modern] and friendly people on the front desk.
moderate rates.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The location is excellent with a short walk to union square. From here we tended to walk to other attractions such as Fishermans wharf which took about half an hour up and some steep hills but a good way to see SF. However, public transport from this area is excellent. Very friendly staff and they upgraded us for our honeymoon. Very good housekeeping with excellent bed, cleaning and free, good quality toiletries. Free wifi which is helpful and coffee making facilities on in room but on our floor. All in all, a quirky hotel with excellent staff and a super location which was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 229 in San Francisco
1,727 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
1,656 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing