We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews are right on for the Cow Hollow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Ranked #38 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2006

I booked a night at the Cow Hollow Motor Inn after reading the reviews here, and was not disappointed. The room was spacious and spotless, and the free parking was a great bonus. There are a number of shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, and Marina Green (with a great view of the bay and the Golden Gate bridge) is just a couple of blocks away. The hotel is right on Lombard, which is a very busy thoroughfare, so there was road noise throughout the night. The decoration is standard hotel furniture, so if you're looking for a place with unique San Francisco charm and character, this might not be the place for you. Overall though, a great value for the price. Note that they held $150 on my card for a one night's stay at a $99 room rate. This seems to be standard at a number of San Francisco hotels, but not necessarily made clear up front.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rengrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2006

A 4 storey hotel with basement and ground floor given over to parking located on Lombard St (Route 101) so always busy.

We stayed 5 nights at $86 + tax a night for a 'city view' room. This meant a Lombard St view, but I'd have thought all sides of the hotel would be pretty noisy.

The room was well appointed and clean. No issues. Don't have a room near the ice/drinks machines though. They are terribly noisy.

The hotel is badly in need of window replacement. The metal-framed single-glazed windows have broken catches (I saw 3 rooms whilst there - they all had broken window catches) and of course do little to keep out traffic noise.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank michael47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Couldn't fault the Cow Hollow Motor Inn. The location is just brilliant, especially for nearby restaurants and shops, which are just at your doorstep.

Parking is free (a huge plus), and our room was extremely comfortable and really quiet (no view, but no traffic noise either).

I researched a lot of hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area, but was so glad we chose the Cow Hollow area instead. Fisherman's Wharf just seems an area of slightly tacky tourist restaurants and snack bars, "seaside resort" souvenir shops and chain hotels, whereas Cow Hollow was full of great restaurants and shops. I looked for a nice restaurant for our last night and was overwhelmed with choice - ISA, Betelnut, A16, to name but a few. We ended up at Bistro Aix which was excellent.

The number 30 Muni bus runs along Chestnut St and goes really close to Fisherman's Wharf.

Extremely good value for a central city hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We stay at the Cow Hollow at least once a month and it is our home away from home! The rooms are always fresh & clean, and it is in a fantastic location ~ the heart of the Marina District! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value and location.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank thetripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Read about this hotel on this site and decided to take a chance. We were glad we did! We normally stay at a Marriot, but this place had such great reviews we decided to try it. This hotel was exceptionally clean, nicely appointed, and quiet. We asked for a back room because we live in the country and are not used to city noise any more. The view wasn't great (another window) but we did not hear anything from the room, which is exactly what we wanted! There was plenty of parking in a nice well-lit 2 story basement garage. A very nice and clean laundermat is right around the corner. We also found a Safeway that was 6 easy walking blocks away and could buy hot dinners for 6.99, instead of buying dinner at the restaurants, which saved us a ton of money. There is also a nice restaurant attached to the hotel that was open for breakfast and lunch and was quite reasonably priced. My wife felt safe enough to walk to Curves and back, which was 9 blocks away, by herself. There is also a Starbucks, a Walgreen's Pharmacy and numerous restaurants and small bars in the area. The other hotel guests were all pleasant and friendly, as was the hotel staff. All in all, it was a great place to stay, especially for what little money we spent to stay there. My only complaint is that it did not have a Guest Services directory in the room. It would have been nice if they could compile something about the hotel services and area establishments. I will say that they answered all of our questions, including the best places to park for a baseball game. Thanks Cow Hollow, for stretching our funds and allowing us to do so much more when we were in San Francisco.

Stayed: August 2006
8  Thank VirginiaNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed for the second time within two months in this motor inn and think it is a great value for San Francisco. We paid - depending on the season- between $90 and $125 for a room and ZERO for parking. After paying up to $55 for parking in other hotels in SF we like the Cow Hollow Motor Inn even better. True, the rooms are plain, but I don't expect in this price range high end luxury. The staff is always helpful - our request for a room not facing busy Lombard Street was always honored.

We also love the Cow Hollow neighboorhood with its nice, small restaurants, wine bars and coffe shops. Ate at Izzy's steakhouse on Steiner and roamed through the wine bars on Chestnut --- just delightful.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ViennaAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed as a family of four - parents plus two teenagers - at the Cow Hollow Inn for two nights in August 2006. We had read the positive reviews here on TripAdvisor and they were right. Apart from an unfortunate mistake when we arrived, when we were given the key to a room which was already occupied - and the desk clerk didn't seem too concerned when we went back down to reception - everything was good - plenty of space in the room, a nice bathroom and plenty of towels, soap, coffee etc, and a very useful garage. No breakfast, but Mel's DIner is across the road and there are lots of restaurants very nearby. It is easy to get to the rest of the city by bus - recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
14  Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
708 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Hollow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Inn and Suites

Address: 2190 Lombard St, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $133 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cow Hollow Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cow Hollow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing