We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Ranked #36 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
North Royalton OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sweet Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This past week a couple of friends and I travelled to San Francisco for a couple of days of shopping, site seeing and entertainment. We stayed in a suite at Cow Hollow Motor Inn. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful with information on bus and cable cars. The suite was very large and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed free parking and also a complimentary bottle of wine. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes,glasses and cookware. My only complaint was on Saturday night the street noise was quite loud. We all felt it was a great deal with 2 full baths and 2 bedrooms- what's a little noise from people who are having a great time in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthRoyaltonOHJan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    490
    99
    20
    18
See reviews for
296
429
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I reserved the hotel on the basis of reviews I saw here. The hotel is well located on Lombard and Steiner. The place is clean with a good sized room, slightly dingy in the halls, has a parking lot downstairs, good wifi and has a very helpful front-desk staff. The best part is that it has LOADS of restaurants right downstairs on Lombard, Steiner and Chestnut streets. Good bus transportation too. A nice home base to see SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in July 2012. I had read a lot of good reviews on TripAdvisor and these were certainly justified. The location was excellent - right next to a street of restaurants and shops and only a short bus/taxi ride from the pier. Our room was huge and had 2 double beds which was great. Was quiet and clean and good value for money - we were travelling on a budget and this suited us perfectly. Free parking was good too - we hired a car for a day and this was very handy. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchid1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Its all you have to know. There are not many budget friendly places to stay in san francisco that are in a good location. I'd say for its price it can't be beat just because the rooms were decent, the rooms were quiet and clean, and lastly free parking. I'd say stay here as well because there is a bus stop that can take you pretty much anywhere in the city a couple of blocks away and you are next to a lot of good nightlife.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justinbbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic mine, mi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Parking was free, the inner rooms quiet and very clean. The front desk were very helpful, giving great information on places to visit, where to eat, etc. I would definately stay at the Cow Hollow Motor Inn and Suites again.

Room Tip: If you get there early you can park real close to the registration desk. The inner rooms were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesAtlanticMine_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a road trip.
When we first arrived we drove into the carpark at road level but could not find a space so asked about additional parking and were told there was another lower level accessed via the side streeet by a porter. We drove there and left our adult children unpacking the car while we checked in at reception.
The receptionist was a mature man who seemed to be in the wrong job! He was not at all friendly and when he asked for our car registration and heard thatr we didnt know it (a hire car) he stated that they did not expect people to just go and park before checking in!! Excuse me, but this was the 7th hotel of our trip and we had parked up first at every other resort/hotel. He then was quite put out that we had booked a suite and a room and werent really concerned which name went against which room/suite. This whole time we could here the very friendly female receptionist welcoming other guests...we were not impressed.
Maybe he was having a bad day but that was hardly our fault.
Anyway, we then headed to the room first as this was where our 3 adult children were staying. In comparison to all the other rooms we had stayed in it was really quite small and the 2 double beds took up most of the floor space. There was an unpleasant smell and the coffee making facilities were in the bathroom! We opened a window to air the room and went to find our suite.
This was in another building that although joined was in accessable other than through the basement carpark! The other alternative was to leave the hotel altogether walk around the block and enter through the street door. This was not ideal as there were occassions when our daughters needed something from their room and we had to escort them back as it was dark and it felt unsafe to let them walk through a basement carpark on their own.
The suite was beautifully decorated and perfectly fitted out with a small kitchen area and a large living room. The bedroom was huge and the bed extremely comfortable. In comparison to the room it felt like we were in a completely different hotel.
The hotel does not provide breakfast but there are plenty of eateries close by, I would not recommend Mels as it was overpriced and poor quality. Instead try one of the little cafes that are in the side street where the carpark entrance is.Much better value, quality and more welcoming.

The area around the hotel is nice and we walked to Fishermans wharf and back on a number of occassions. It is approx a 30 minute walk and felt safe.

The room smell diminished over time but the room was very noisy at night and when we reported this we were told that it was because it was on the top floor and that the noise was the aircon. They did offer a change of rooms but the kids didnt want the hassle of a move so just accepted it
When I return to San Fran I will stay at a different resort and if anyone is planning on staying here I would say go for a suite, only slightly more expensive but much better quality.
Its hard to rate this hotel because of the very differing quality of the room versus the suite so I will mostly vote average where really the rooms are poor and the suite is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inspiration, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom King/Queen suite, which also has 2 bathrooms. This was ideal traveling with persons who prefer not to share bathroom (sister, father-in-law, etc.) We could not be happier, the room included free parking & free wine. And full size kitchen and family room, plus 3 cavernous closets, made it a truly roomy place to stay. Only drawback for business travelers might be you have to walk to a restaurant, but with 60+ dining places in a few blocks, this was great excuse to go out. Also the furniture is a bit dated, seems to be from the 1980s. The maid staff are very good at cleaning, they spent about 45 mins doing our 2 bedroom suite. Also the TVs are not big flatscreens. This place is in the Marina district, the hip center of San francisco. Lombard and Chestnut streets are very convenient to go downtown, Union Sq, bay bridges & ferries. Like other reviewers, I hesitate to mention Cow Hollow as it may get too popular!

Air conditioning: I dont think our bedrooms were setup for A/C; I only saw heating controls on the walls. There was an A/C on the family room floor, but this would rarely be needed since S.F. is chilly most of the year.

Room Tip: Located in a busy commercial district, most rooms will prolly have street noise, esp on weekend even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#27 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Hollow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Inn and Suites

Property: Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Address: 2190 Lombard St, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cow Hollow Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cow Hollow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing