We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient and free parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Ranked #37 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and free parking!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nothing fancy here. Good sized room with a view of the GGB! No frills but it was quiet, clean and affordable. Lombard St at this end is very boring but Chestnut St is lively with lots of great wine bars, cafes and boutiques. It was a half an hour walk to Fishermans Wharf and great street transportation if walking isn't your thing!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room instead of one on Lombard St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    516
    104
    22
    18
See reviews for
308
463
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel was clean, and very reasonably priced for San Fransisco. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sometimes it can get noisy if you stay on the Lombard St. side, but all in all a very good place to stay. This place was recommended by people who stay there often, and we would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the Steiner St. side, and the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamax8825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford -upon -Avon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a 'predictable' motor inn. Good sized rooms with clean and helpful staff. It is in a very good location and close to some good eateries, coffee shops (try Noah's bagels around the corner for breakfast) and good spots for evening drinks.Tourist Buses run nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snuffleuffaguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found this hotel thru Tripadvisor.com, and we were not disappointed by the 4-star rating. One will need to understand a few things before he/she can appreciate what it has to offer (or not offer)

For San Francisco's main tourist area hotels, the common going rate for 2 people booking 1 room is about $140-$149 before tax per night (Sun - Thurs) during high season (May - August). The rate is higher for Fri, Sat, and special holidays.

This hotel is located at the corner of Lombard and Steiner. Although it isn't located next to the main tourist attractions such as Fisherman's Wharf, cable car route, Golden Gate bridge, etc..; it is generally in a good location of town. Bus lines pass by on Lombard (Front of the hotel) or in the back of the hotel of the next street called Chestnut. Within the 2 blocks radius there were tons of dinners including a Walgreen and Starbuck.
We checked in last week for 3-night weekday stay so the rate was $140 per night. That worked out to be around $162 after tax. The hotel has professional looking staff and lobby. The lobby was located on the street level in the main garage so just drive in the main garage to check in/check out. The main garage can be accessed from both Lombard and Steiner while the second larger garage can only be accessed from Steiner.


We had room choices so we picked street view on the 3rd floor looking down to Lombard street. It was a bit noisy but tolerable even at night--it's in the heart of San Francisco after all. Our Bay windows swung open to a beautiful view of San Francisco hilltops dotted with endless European like houses and buildings in the distance.
Our room was exceptionally clean, and the bathroom was also clean and well stocked. Room was AC equipped and controlled, but it didn't come with microwave nor refrigerator. It's not a deal breaker either way. There were chairs and table in our room so we could sit at the bay window and enjoy the view. Wi-Fi worked great too. We never woke up early enough for breakfast, but I didn't think it came with free continental breakfast.
We drove our car and had no problem whatsoever to park. The main parking lot on the street level is much smaller and was usually filled up first. The second parking lot is down the basement level and is larger in size.
Overall this is a great hotel for the price in San Francisco and deserves 3-4 star rating on this website. It can't quite be 5 stars since it lacks many amenities. What disappointed me was that it didn't give me my AAA discount when asked. They simply stated that $140 is a special price. Well, just their nice way of saying "No".

Room Tip: Pick street view on 3rd floor if you appreciate city view. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J-DaiCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms were clean and average size with a great location. I would have given this 5 stars but we had to wake up the night crew by pounding on the window because he was sleeping in the back room. But to be fair it was 4 in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Such a great place our room had a great view of Lombard st and Mels Diner. The room was very clean and our air unit worked great. They could use some new window our a had dry water stians from the fog but over the room was aboultly great + free parking it dose'nt get any better than that. Also very close to many attractions such as palace of fine arts and ghirideil square. one street back is chestnut wich is just faboulus many shops and resturants. Hope this was helpfull!

Room Tip: You got to have a room with a street view and some may think o lombard is so busy and it is so load...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyatt1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here with my dad in July for four nights when we did the Alcatraz Challenge Swim. Although we expected something pretty crummy for the price we paid, we were pleasantly surprised. Staff is friendly, the place is clean as a whistle, and the rooms are spacious. Don't expect to feel pampered, but for travelers on a budget this is about perfect.
One major down-side is the location. It takes at least 30 minutes to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, and downtown is a bus or taxi ride away. Still, I will remember the Cow Hollow Motor Inn as a critical part of a great trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
681 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Hollow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Inn and Suites

Property: Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Address: 2190 Lombard St, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cow Hollow Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cow Hollow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing