We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surprises--mostly pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beck's Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beck's Motor Lodge
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprises--mostly pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed at Beck's primarily because it was near the CPMC Davies campus, where my brother was hospitalized, and because it was relatively inexpensive for San Francisco. She described Beck's as "straight out of the '50s," which could have been bad news. My first surprise was the man dressed only in a thong strolling ahead of us on the outside balcony ("Don't worry," whispered my sister-in-law, "he's not interested in us--and not just because we're old"). Another surprise was how clean and spacious our room was. And the room remained clean throughout our prolonged stay, thanks to the conscientious housekeeping staff. We kept having to extend our stay, since the hospitalization was unexpected and the course of events unpredictable, but the folks at the front desk were very flexible (they could have been hard-nosed and booted us out). There are lots of nice little restaurants near the hotel (the Indian place right across the street isn't bad), and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. I would recommend ear plugs for sleeping, though.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, so the bathroom had a little skylight, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SometimeProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    257
    75
    22
    24
See reviews for
88
210
84
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just got back from 3 weeks business trip in San Francisco. While I was there, I stayed in this hotel. It was more than I expected. Very friendly and helpful staff, room was clean and spacious (got cleaned every day, towels/sheets replaced). I had one single problem with appliances and they fixed it in few hours. So, I am recommending this place to everyone - specially for first-timers in SF.

Room Tip: Any floor beside ground-level is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
212 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Have stayed here many times. Free parking. Great neighborhood (Castro/Upper Market). F Street Car line stop is right there (unfortnately you hear the noise from the historic street cars in most rooms). Friendly staff. Odd gas wall heaters. You can walk everywhere. Not is the traditional touristy areas. A classic motel. Recommended for the budget minded single person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

A friend suggested Becks when I asked for a hotel in the Castro area. A few other friends said "No!" but after looking at the reviews and location we decided to make a reservation. I flew in but my travel companion drove up from San Diego. Having free parking was amazing, we actually never drove the car any of the four days we were there. Public transportation is literally outside your door. This isn't a five star resort, it's a motor lodge, if you're looking for pampered luxury this probably isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a decent place to stay that won't cost you your first born child that is also incredibly convenient to the Castro then Becks is a good choice. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and comfy. Card access to the upper levels made us feel safe though many people told us it took all the fun out of the place. One humorous note: If you're staying there and using Grndr you will get a ton of messages that simple say "Becks?" If hanky panky is what you're looking for it's available but also easy to avoid and nobody was pushy or creepy. All around I would definitely stay there again next time I am in SF.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Was a great location rooms clean and front desk and staff very nice and helpful. I'd def stay here again. The location of this place was within walking district to everything Castro! Coffee place Sweet Inspiration was my place to read the paper and relax.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to public transport. It is an average hotel, service is OK. Receptionist service is good and friendly. You pay the same price for a much better hotel in Las vegas for example. There are some good places to eat in the neighbourhood. They should definitely change their beds. They have very soft old matresses which could destroy your back. Some guests were very loud and noisy at night. There are also some funny looking people cruising around at night. Some of them like to spy through the windows. They do have some security, but I only saw the security guard one night during my 3 night stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Terrible customer service. They double billed my credit card even when reservation canceled. I had valid cancel number and date/time was well within their 24 hour policy. AVOID at all costs--stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rippedpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BecksMotorLodge, Owner at Beck's Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello,

It sounds like there must be some confusion - I am very sorry about that! If you have a valid cancellation number, and you canceled prior to 24 hours before arrival (3 pm the day before), you should not have been charged as a no-show and definitely not double charged. I am more than happy to look into this for you to get the situation settled. Please email me directly, BBeck@becksmotorlodge.com.

Thank you.

Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,906 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck's Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Motor Lodge

Property: Beck's Motor Lodge
Address: 2222 Market Street, At 15th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beck's Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Castro, Beck's Motor Lodge is surrounded by charming tree lined streets, unique restaurants and lively nightlife. We have a private sundeck where you will enjoy lovely views of the city. Public transportation via the historic streetcar is available outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beck's Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Motor Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motel San Francisco
Becks Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motor Lodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing