We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“wonderful motel near the Castro.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beck's Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beck's Motor Lodge
Ranked #27 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful motel near the Castro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

i love this motel. nice walking area. plenty of restaurants. refrigerator. free parking. comfy beds. not luxurious bit very comfortable with no stress. i stay here every time i'm in SF. some room have air conditioning. trolley availalble right outside the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    229
    71
    22
    23
See reviews for
73
190
78
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here two nights. Off street parking was a major plus, especially after walking down one of the side streets coming back from lunch and seeing a broken car window with the glass still on the ground. I would recommend a second or third story room if you want some security. First floor rooms are literally open to the world. There is only one elevator and no hand carts for luggage were available the night we checked in.

Be prepared as most rooms don't have AC. We had windows open (there is a bar that prevents each window from opening more than 6") and the fan running. Even with the window open, the place was relatively quiet, especially considering that you are right on Market Street.

Yes, the complex is old, but the location is right. The front desk did claim they were planning to renovate the place this winter. The room was clean and modest, with a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a large closet. The bed was acceptable. Public transportation is a short walk away. In a nutshell, it served our purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is an older motor Inn with a few updates. While it is not a five star hotel, it is a fine place to stay if you want to be centrally located and have a car. The free parking is a MAJOR plus; there is also easy access to public transport just steps from your door to get elsewhere in the city. There are so many wonderful restaurants and cafes all within walking distance. We did have an A/C in our room but never had to use it, we just popped opened the windows, which cooled off the room well. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in one of the king size rooms, very quiet and clean we will stay again if we ever find ourselves in San Francisco again.

Room Tip: If you can't live without an A/C you need to stay in a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend of a friend...... it was a friend trip with 4 of us and we all stayed in the same room, rooms were very spacious for san fran, bathroom was very small but we made it work, we are all heavy packers and we had no problem sharing his room...clean room, check in and check out was easy
best thing about this hotel is the location, yes it is technically in the castro which is in the gay area but it is out of the main area of the castro and other than a gay flag at the entry you would never know this is near a gay area, literally right outside your front door is a bus line and a rail line, 2 blocks away is a subway line, we used public transportation the whole 8 days we were there and had no problem using it from this location, safe... never felt scared walking late at night like some other areas of san fran, lots of restaurants close by ...supermarket and coffee shop right acrossed the street
free parking-we didnt use it but in san fran this is hard to come by
awesome visit!!!!

Room Tip: great location!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here two nights this past weekend. While its fine for what it is (an old motel), it 's just a bit seedy. My room was small and pretty sparse, (no hair dryer, towels are not so hot), but it did have a fridge, bathroom was almost rustic. I am a fairly light sleeper and the street noise kept me up despite a white noise ap on my phone- busses and street cars clanging. My fellow guests did not bother me in the least (no wild partying, etc as others have said). When I was unable to fly home as planned due to the hurricane, I did change hotels (grabbed a 4 star hotel, the Stanford, on Priceline for $120 a night, which was less than I paid at Becks). The free parking is what drew me and it was great to have as I needed a car for those first days and street parking is almost impossible in the Castro. Also, the folks at the desk were super nice and helpful and the room did feel pretty clean but the rooms have those old fashioned bedspreads that hotels used to have and they kind of gross me out, not knowing if they are washed between guests..

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank crthomson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

...right in the middle of the Gay Crossroads of Western Civilization, the Castro. As other reviewers say, rates are modest, it is relatively clean, rare parking outside your door and everything is proximate even without a car by walking, bike or BART. The further back from Market St., the quieter the rooms are but wild boys next door have their own sounds you can't miss. I've stayed here alone and accompanied. On one of the alone trips, I was near the soda machine, and simply by leaving my door open, I was barely alone at all. No porn shoots but lots of partying, especially during major events (Pride, Castro Street Fair, Folsom Street Fair, etc.). If you want to see what a value this really is, compare with conventional chain hotels--this city is priced like Manhattan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This older motor Inn has been updated over the years. While certainly not a five star it is a fine place to stay if you need to be in the Castro and have a car. The free parking makes up for a lot and it is an easy walk to places in the Castro. There is also easy access to public transport to get elsewhere in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#41 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#18 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#109 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 233 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#35 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck's Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Motor Lodge

Property: Beck's Motor Lodge
Address: 2222 Market St, At 15th Street, San Francisco, CA 94114-1506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beck's Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Castro, Beck's Motor Lodge is surrounded by charming tree lined streets, unique restaurants and lively nightlife. We have a private sundeck where you will enjoy lovely views of the city. Public transportation via the historic streetcar is available outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Beck's Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Motor Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motel San Francisco
Becks Hotel San Francisco
Becks Motor Lodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing