We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of Ride The Ducks of San Francisco - CLOSED

Ride The Ducks of San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience sightseeing on the best San Francisco Duck Tour. Travel on land and water in an amphibious vehicle crafted from the WW II DUKW. RIDE through San Francisco’s historic streets and neighborhoods. SPLASH down into the bay and cruise McCovey Cove. QUACK along with the Captain as he en-tour-tains you with stories of past and present. Drive the duck if you want! The only duck tour in San Francisco with the famous Wacky Quackers™.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We actually rented out the whole duck for a company event. Captain Rob and Skye were the best. It was nice to relax and tour the city. I have been coming to San Francisco since I was a child every year and I still learned a lot from the tour. Very informative. I have to admit when the duck went into the bay we were all a bit nervous but no need to be. Several members of our group got to drive the duck in the water which was awesome!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SK1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    88
    37
    11
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Awesome Time”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family and I had a blast! It is totally worth the time! Maybe because we had an awesome tour guide!! If you get it on Groupon, it's a great deal!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paradize650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Do the Gray Line Tour Instead”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were on a cross country tour, and we happened to Ride the Ducks in Seattle, WA a week earlier. We loved our experience with the Duck tour in Seattle (I gave it a 5 Star rating on here), but disliked the San Francisco experience. The tour did not include a visit to the Golden Gate, Painted Ladies, or Crooked Street. When we entered the harbor, it was in an industrial area. We did not go into any interesting parts of the bay, and the water tour was mostly focused on the baseball field. There were no real photo ops of the Golden Gate and/or the famous locations that you would expect to see on a tour of the city. The commentary was okay, but it was too heavily focused on jokes. Don't get me wrong, the jokes are a nice touch, but not when they over-power the commentary. How bad was this tour? It was so poor that we decided to take the 2 1/2 hour Gray Line Tour immediately afterwards, as we felt that we were no t shown any of the famous sights of San Fran on the Duck Tour! We loved the Gray Line Tour for $25! So, do yourself a favor. Opt out of the Duck Tour for $34, and go with the Gray Line Tour for $25. The Gray Line Tour is much more informative, and there is a 20 minute stop-over and bathroom break at the Golden Gate viewing area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Clay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Guest Relations Manager at Ride The Ducks of San Francisco, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
To our valued guests:
On a daily basis many of our guests ask us about the two different products that we offer from our Fisherman's Wharf location in San Francisco. We strive to educate everyone on the differences between our two products and determine the right tour product that best fits the needs of each of our guests.

Our Ride The Ducks product is a unique 90 minute land and water based adventure that shows the highlights of San Francisco blended with a spectacular splashdown into the San Francisco Bay. We are proud of our silly jokes, topical music, and information given on the tour. We highlight to our guests that the Duck tour is more for en-tour-tainment than a typical tour! We encourage everyone to Quack along and show the city that we are the most unique tour in town.

We also run a Classic Cable Car tour from our kiosk. This traditional two hour tour is educational; informative and focused on the classic sights of the city. This tour caters to the guest who would like to know more about the history and less about the music and/or jokes. We cross the Golden Gate Bridge, drive through the Presidio, observe the breath taking views in Pacific Heights, and visit other well known parts of our city.

We must take note that all tour buses in general are prohibited from touring in the areas of Coit Tower, Lombard Street, and in the neighborhood of the Painted Ladies. It is important to know that both of our tours do come within views of Coit Tower and Lombard streets.

Here are Ride The Ducks and Classic Cable Car we strive to provide the best tour possible that best suits the needs of our guest. If at any time a guest is not satisfied with our product we will do what it takes to see that our guests are taken care of and leave San Francisco knowing that we care about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury manchester
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Brilliant!! staff excellent, ride was really informative and good fun”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

definately recommend this trip, the staff were amazing, and funny, the trip was really good, and took us to places in san fran we wouldnt otherwise have seen, and then in the water, and round alcatraz. Good length too, and you get to keep the duck whistles. We didnt have kids with us but had so much fun on this and the kids that went loved it. Even getting a chance to drive the bus in the water! definately recommend this trip to anyone going to San Francisco in the future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank michellecardno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our tour director was great, a very funny man. Very knowledge about the city - his speaker system wasn't working the best. The driver was a very knowledgeable land tour guide it was unfortunate the water was rough so we really didn't have that much water time(which is out of the companies control). I was thankful though that we did turnaround and go back to land since the boat was rocking a bit too much for me. Safety was number one. Kids would love this tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank npalmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ride The Ducks of San Francisco also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing